Skip to main contentSkip to footer content

January 2017 Archive

NWTHS honors TTUHSC pharmacy alum

Matt Tate, a School of Pharmacy graduate from the Amarillo campus, was recently selected as the 2016 Pharmacist of the Year by Northwest Texas Healthcare System.

Walgreens donates diversity funds to School of Pharmacy

Thomas Thekkumkara, Ph.D., Amarillo regional dean for the School of Pharmacy, accepted an $8,000 check from Walgreens representatives as part of the Walgreens Diversity Initiative.

Amarillo pharmacy team advances to national competition

Three second-year Amarillo pharmacy students teamed up to win the local round of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy's Clinical Research Challenge.

Amarillo researcher utilizing adult stem cells to find cures

Hiranmoy Das, Ph.D., a professor for the School of Pharmacy’s Department of Biomedical Sciences, focuses his research on isolating and expanding a variety of human adult stem cells and using them for the treatment of various degenerative diseases.

Graduate Student Wins Photo Contest

A photo by Amarillo graduate student Hanumantha Rao Madala was recognized as a winning entry in a photo contest conducted by Vector Laboratories

Amarillo research students to be honored at Baltimore meeting

A group of TTUHSC-Amarillo graduate students working toward their Ph.D. as research assistants for the School of Pharmacy’s Graduate Program in Pharmaceutical Sciences each received a travel support award to attend the Society of Toxicology’s (SOT) 56th Annual Meeting March 12-16 in Baltimore.

'Hoof Prints' Horse Statues Approach Anniversary

City-wide public art project in Amarillo, and TTUHSC’s "Pride of the Masked Rider" horse statue, turn 15 this year.

Smalligan’s contributions recognized at farewell reception

The TTUHSC campus in Amarillo said good-bye to one of its most popular and well-respected faculty members at a reception held Jan. 4.

TTUHSC-Amarillo Welcomes New Employees

TTUHSC-Amarillo Welcomed several new employees to campus during the month of December.

Pediatric research associate awarded travel grant

The Southern Section-American Federation for Medical Research (SAFMR) and the Southern Society for Clinical Investigation (SSCI) recently awarded a $750 travel grant to Mohammed Al-Obaide, a research associate for Department of Pediatrics Professor Tetyana L. Vasylyeva, M.D., Ph.D.