Amarillo pharmacy team advances to national competition

Edward Bergman, Austin Crissman and Russell NeillSecond-year Amarillo pharmacy students Edward Bergman, Austin Crissman and Russell Neill teamed up Jan. 18 to win the local round of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy (ACCP) Clinical Research Challenge. The local competition included 11 three-member teams comprised of first- and second-year pharmacy students from the TTUHSC campuses in Amarillo and Abilene.

Ashley Higbea, an assistant professor for the School of Pharmacy in Dallas, said the novel competition is targeted toward pharmacy students in their first two years of their pharmacy degree program.

“This unique competition promotes critically evaluating and applying primary literature that is an essential skill for clinical pharmacists,” Higbea added.

Their first-place finish means Bergman, Crissman and Neill will advance to ACCP’s Online Journal Club competition Feb. 6 and compete against other pharmacy school teams from across the country. The top 40 teams from the online journal club round advance to the second round of ACCP’s National Clinical Research Challenge. The top 20 teams second round teams will advance to the third and final round, where they will draft full research proposals. The full research proposals will be evaluated April 17-June 2 and winners will be announced June 5.

Related Stories

TTUHSC’s Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences Hosts Student Research Week

The Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC) Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences hosted its 34th Annual Student Research Week March 8-11.

TTUHSC Researcher Receives NIH Grant to Study Vulnerabilities in Specific Cancer Types

The National Cancer Institute awarded a five-year, $1.9 million grant to C. Patrick Reynolds, M.D., Ph.D., director for the School of Medicine Cancer Center at TTUHSC.

The Hype Around Artificial Intelligence

Richard Greenhill, DHA, FISQua, FACHE, discusses the hype and reality surrounding AI in healthcare.

Recent Stories


Developing Troubleshooting Skills in Molecular Pathology Students

Ericka Hendrix, PhD, MB(ASCP)cm, spoke about the training and education involved for diagnostic molecular scientists and how the pandemic has affected the role.


Celebrating Collaboration — TTUHSC and City of Abilene Unveil New Julia Jones Matthews School of Population and Public Health

TTUHSC and members of the Abilene community today (June 29) celebrated the official unveiling the new Julia Jones Matthews School of Population and Public Health.


A Sixth School for a Brighter Future

On June 29, the opening celebration event for the Julia Jones Matthews School of Population and Public Health will recognize many years of hard work and look ahead to the start of a new and exciting journey.