Walgreens donates diversity funds to School of Pharmacy

Thekkumkara and FernandezThomas Thekkumkara, Ph.D., Amarillo regional dean for the School of Pharmacy, accepted an $8,000 check from Walgreens representatives Rick Fernandez, R.Ph., MBA, and Gayan Siriwardana Jan. 26 as part of the Walgreens Diversity Initiative.

The money will fund a pair of $2,500 scholarships, including the Walgreens Diversity & Inclusion Excellence Scholarship Award and the Walgreens Diversity Scholarship. The remaining $3,000 will be used to implement or enhance programs targeted at increasing the enrollment of diverse groups at the School of Pharmacy.

School of Pharmacy


The School of Pharmacy was established in 1996 and now has campuses in Amarillo, Lubbock, Dallas and Abilene. Since its inception, the school has played a significant role in addressing the state's pharmacist shortage. Today, more than 90 percent of its graduates remain in Texas.

The school requires its students to complete more clinical training hours than any other pharmacy program in the country, making its students some of the most sought after graduates.