TTUHSC Honors Class of 2023 at Commencement Ceremonies

TTUHSC School of Medicine student crossing the stage at graduation

TTUHSC School of Medicine commencement

The Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC) hosted commencement ceremonies for its 1,669-member Class of 2023. Graduates from the School of Nursing and Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences were awarded their diplomas May 5. The School of Health Professions and the Julia Jones Matthews School of Population and Public Health graduated on May 6. The School of Medicine held their commencement ceremony May 19 and the Jerry H. Hodge School of Pharmacy graduates crossed the stage the following morning on May 20. 

TTUHSC school of nursing student getting hooded for graduation

TTUHSC School of Nursing commencement

“Congratulations to each of our graduates,” TTUHSC President Lori Rice-Spearman, Ph.D., said. “I am confident that their time at TTUHSC has prepared them for future challenges and opportunities that will transform health care. I wish our graduates much success and challenge them to make our world kinder and brighter, and I have no doubt they will do so and much, much more.”

The School of Nursing graduated 435 members and the first Amarillo traditional BSN cohort in its class of 2023, which includes students who earned their degrees in the school’s DNP, MSN and R.N. to BSN programs, and students who earned their traditional BSN degrees. Top award winners included Tania Lopez (Excellence in Nursing Award, DNP Program), Alexandria Key (Excellence in Nursing Award, MSN Program), Gracie Anaya (Excellence in Nursing Award, R.N. to BSN program), Deanna Fleeman (Excellence in Nursing Award, Traditional BSN program) and Alexandra Salazar-Brown (Dean’s Leadership Award).

TTUHSC graduate school of biomedical sciences student at graduation

TTUHSC GSBS commencement

The Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences Class of 2023 consisted of 31 total graduates, including nine who earned their Ph.D. and 22 who received their master’s degree. Valeria Jaramillo-Martinez was named the recipient of the 2023 K. Wyatt McMahon Outstanding Ph.D. student. Other award winners included Megan Ashton and Grayson Braziel (Dean’s Recognition Award). 

The School of Health Professions honored 826 graduates and its first Doctor of Occupational Therapy cohort. The school’s Class of 2023 award honorees included Katherine Hae-Jin Yu (Undergraduate Dean’s Award), Jennie Pearson Deignan (Graduate Dean’s Award) and Jeegisha Kapila, Ph.D., (Dean’s Award-Research).

woman smiling while graduating from the school of population and public health at TTUHSC

TTUHSC Julia Jones Matthews School of Population and Public Health commencement

The Julia Jones Matthews School of Population and Public Health held their first-ever commencement ceremony for its inaugural graduating class. There were 49 graduates in total who received their diplomas. Award winners from the school included Chelsea Gerlicki (United States Public Health Service Excellence in Public Health Award) and Mackenzie Filewicz-Ross (Outstanding Public Health Student of the Year Award).

The School of Medicine honored its 178-member Class of 2023.  The Dean’s Recognition Award winners included Carly Guerra (Amarillo Campus), Hailey Burden (Covenant Campus) and Asher George (Odessa Campus). The John Aure Buesseler, M.D. Award for student excellence went to Abdurrahman Kharbat. Brianna Marschke earned the Gold Headed Cane Award as the individual selected jointly by faculty and students who best exemplifies those qualities that are most desirable in the competent and caring physician.

TTUHSC Jerry H. Hodge School of Pharmacy students during graduation

TTUHSC Jerry H. Hodge School of Pharmacy commencement

The Jerry H. Hodge School of Pharmacy celebrated their 2023 graduating class of 150 students. Kevin Zhang received the Banner Bearer Award for having the highest GPA in the graduating class. Eric Kennison earned the Bowl of Hygieia, an honor that is awarded to the student who best displays the qualities of a fine pharmacist, including high ethics and commitment to the profession. 

Related Stories

Campus Life

TTUHSC School of Nursing Student Accepted Into Navy Nurse Candidate Program

TTUHSC) hosted a swear-in ceremony for TTUHSC School of Nursing student Gwen Padgett Thursday, Jan. 18.

Campus Life

Remembering Darlene Norton, Professor Emerita

Darlene Norton, Professor Emerita, educator, leader, community health worker, nurse practitioner, mentor and patient advocate, passed away Jan. 13, 2024 in Albuquerque, N.M.

Campus Life

Faculty Women's Club Celebrates 50 Years

The FWC of the TTUHSC School of Medicine will hold a celebration dinner in honor of 50 years as an organization on February 7 at Skyviews restaurant in Lubbock.

Recent Stories


Rumbaugh Named Fellow by American Academy of Microbiology

Kendra Rumbaugh, Ph.D., a professor in the TTUHSC School of Medicine’s Department of Surgery, was named as one of the American Academy of Microbiology (AAM) 65 new Fellows for 2024.


Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center Names New School of Medicine Dean and Executive Vice President for Clinical Affairs

John C. DeToledo, M.D., has been named the TTUHSC School of Medicine dean and executive vice president for clinical affairs.


Finding Purpose and Perspective in West Texas

Edgar Garza, second year student in the Master of Athletic Training program, spoke about his journey to TTUHSC and his hopes to shape the future of athletic training.