Skip to main contentSkip to footer content

February 2018 Archive

Making a Difference: The Free Clinic Extraordinary Volunteers

Elizabeth Cook, a second-year medical student, is from Columbus, Ohio. She received her Bachelor of Fine Arts degree in 2009 from Texas Christian University.

TTUHSC Professor Honored by Indian Society

The Indian Society of Nephrology recently presented the KS Chugh Award-Oration to Sharma Prabhakar, M.D.

Simple Changes for a Healthy Heart

Heart disease is the number one killer for both men and women in the United States, but is also one of the most preventable health issues. Scott Shurmur, M.D., says simple daily habits can help promote greater heart health.

First Vaccine License Agreement for TTUHSC Researcher

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC) announced a license agreement with PAI Life Sciences, Inc. to develop a vaccine for the human parasitic disease, schistosomiasis. This is the first TTUHSC license agreement for a vaccine.

Tedd L. Mitchell, M.D., 2018 March for Babies chair

The 2018 March for Babies chair is Tedd L. Mitchell, M.D., Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center president. The March of Dimes Ambassador Family is Jennifer & Jack Kassis.

How to Help Children with Tragedies in the Media

With the latest mass shooting in Florida, parents may have concerns about how their children process the violence on television, social media and the Internet. Michael Gomez, Ph.D., a child trauma psychologist at Texas Tech Physicians – Pediatrics, said there are steps parents and caregivers can take to help their children deal with the tragic images.

TTUHSC to Bring All Four Years of Pharmacy Program to DFW

The TTUHSC School of Pharmacy is revamping its DFW program to include all four years of its doctor of pharmacy (Pharm.D.) curriculum.

TMA Recognizes TTUHSC Preceptor

Alan Keister, M.D., a clinical associate professor for TTUHSC’s Department of Internal Medicine and co-founder of Amarillo’s Heal the City clinic, was presented the 2018 John P. McGovern Champion of Health Award by the Texas Medical Association Foundation.

TTP’s Harper Named 2017 Outstanding PA

The Texas Academy of Physician Assistants recently named D. Shane Harper, a clinical physician assistant in Amarillo, its Outstanding Physician Assistant of the Year.

GPPS Student Selected for Grant

The Society of Toxicology Awards Committee recently selected Sharavan Ramachandran, a Ph.D. candidate in the School of Pharmacy’s Graduate Program in Pharmaceutical Sciences, to receive the Syngenta Fellowship Grant in Human Health Applications of New Technologies.