TTUHSC Honors School of Nursing Faculty and Staff

close up of place card during TTUHSC awards ceremony

The School of Nursing faculty and staff were awarded this year for their contributions to medical education and patient care.

Several Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC) School of Nursing faculty and staff were awarded this year for their unparalleled contributions to medical education and patient care. Staff and faculty members were presented with many prestigious awards, which were announced at an organizational meeting for the School of Nursing.

Health care workers are invaluable to communities locally and across the globe. As a cutting edge university, TTUHSC is proud of our faculty and staff within the school of nursing for their team efforts and innovative ideas.

Find this year’s awards recipients below:


  • Creative Innovator-Emmanuel Sanchez
  • Customer Service-Paige Abney
  • Leadership-Amanda Jensen
  • Our Values-Priscilla Card


  • DAISY Award-Sandy Nease
  • Exceptional Teaching (Non-traditional)-Pat Francis Johnson
  • Exceptional Teaching (Traditional)-Erin Gibson
  • Team Teaching-Alyce Ashcraft, Carol Boswell, Jen Collins, Chris Esperat, Donna Owen
  • Novice Faculty-Courtney Chovanetz
  • Novice Investigator-Jenna Kesey
  • Research Achievement-Alyce Ashcraft
  • Community Engagement-Hollis Franco
  • Exceptional Mentoring-Becky Geist (Remote), Irene Salinas (Lubbock), Donna Paris (Abilene), Lea Keesee (Odessa)

Related Stories


Former White House Health Expert Named TTUHSC Presidential Advisor

TTUHSC President Lori. Rice-Spearman, Ph.D., announced the appointment of Deborah L. Birx, M.D., as the TTUHSC presidential advisor and adjunct professor in the Julia Jones Matthews School of Population and Public Health.


TTUHSC Students Share Knowledge, Experiences at Middle School to Medical School

TTUHSC kicked off Middle School to Medical School (M2M), a program designed to inspire and support children interested in pursuing careers in medicine Monday, Aug. 28.


Board of Regents Approves Appointment of Grover E. Murray Professors

TTU System Board of Regents approved the appointment of Billy U. Philips, Ph.D., MPH, and Thomas J. Abbruscato, Ph.D.

Recent Stories


TTUHSC Researchers Receive NIH Grant to Address Preeclampsia Rates

The National Institutes of Health (NIH) recently awarded a two-year, $1.47 million grant to a new local research coalition led by Christine Garner, Ph.D., R.D., Julie St. John, Dr.P.H., and Stephanie Stroever, Ph.D., MPH.


Youth Suicide: We Need to Address It

Natalie Scanlon, Ph.D., a clinical psychologist in the Department of Psychiatry at Texas Tech Physicians, provides tips for keeping children safe.


National Academy of Inventors Ranks Texas Tech University System Among Top 100 in Patents for 2022

In a list published by the National Academy of Inventors (NAI), the Texas Tech University System, including TTUHSC, ranked 75th among the Top 100 U.S. Universities Granted Utility Patents in 2022.