TTUHSC Team Members Honored at Annual Awards Ceremony

TTUHSC Distinguished Staff AwardsOn September 1, team members throughout Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC) were recognized for their outstanding efforts and achievements at the 2022 Distinguished Staff Awards ceremony.

Along with TTUHSC faculty, staff and leadership, friends and family of the award recipients came together in Lubbock to celebrate and congratulate the many deserving individuals who were honored. 

Presented annually, the Distinguished Staff Awards recognize team members across all TTUHSC campuses for extraordinary contributions that impact the institution and support its mission of higher education, patient care and research. With five award levels ranging from Quality Staff Award to the Chancellor’s Award of Excellence, recipients are chosen based on written nominations. 


The Quality Staff Award is presented to team members who continually demonstrate the TTUHSC value of Beyond Service by creating and delivering positive defining moments. These individuals are recognized for anticipating the needs of others and going the extra mile. This year’s Quality Staff Award recipients include:

  • Katie Chapman, Lubbock campus
  • Debra Coddington, Lubbock campus
  • Somadina Emenike, Lubbock campus
  • Jennifer Gray, Lubbock campus
  • Kim Hay, Amarillo campus
  • Jammie Holland, Permian Basin campus
  • Shelly Landers, Amarillo campus
  • Kelsey Launer, Lubbock campus
  • Barbara Lemons, Lubbock campus
  • Cathy Manes, Amarillo campus
  • Kristi Ramirez, Permian Basin campus
  • Marissa Ramos, Lubbock campus
  • Cristina Robertson, Lubbock campus
  • Stormy Standerfer, Amarillo campus


The Quality Supervisor Award recognizes leaders of one or more team members. Recipients of this award lead with consistency, compassion and respect, and enable their team members not only to achieve goals but develop and grow as contributors to TTUHSC. This year’s recipients of the Quality Supervisor Award include:

  • Robby McCasland, Lubbock campus
  • Kory Smith, Permian Basin campus
  • Catherine Hudson, Lubbock campus


The Quality Team Award is presented to a team of individuals who together epitomize the TTUHSC One Team value through open collaboration, constructive feedback, accountability, and encouragement. They serve as a shining example of how the One Team behavior produces excellent, innovative results. This year, two teams were recognized with Quality Team Awards:

Speech, Language and Hearing Clinic Team

  • Sara Garza
  • Letisha (Tisha) Sosa

Student Affairs Team

  • Vashati Garcia
  • Sara Henley
  • Erin Justyna
  • Tamara Mancini
  • Amanda McSween
  • Keri Shiplet
  • Marcus Wilson


The President’s Award of Excellence recognizes those who promote integrity in the workplace by committing to honesty, ethical choices and transparency in their actions and purpose. The success they have achieved through their essential contributions demonstrates their commitment to achieving short- and long-term goals that influence the success of TTUHSC. This year’s recipient of the President’s Award of Excellence is:

  • Terri Lloyd, Lubbock campus

The Chancellor’s Award of Excellence is the highest accolade presented in the Distinguished Staff Awards program. This award recognizes team members who have demonstrated considerable commitment to TTUHSC’s mission and Values-Based Culture by exhibiting the behaviors inherent to each value–One Team, Kindhearted, Integrity, Visionary, Beyond Service–while motivating others to serve at the same level of excellence. This year’s recipients of the Chancellor’s Award of Excellence include:

  • Pamela Johnson, Lubbock campus
  • Sarah Looten, Lubbock campus


To learn more, please visit the TTUHSC Distinguished Staff Awards website.

Related Stories

Campus Life

TTUHSC School of Nursing Student Accepted Into Navy Nurse Candidate Program

TTUHSC) hosted a swear-in ceremony for TTUHSC School of Nursing student Gwen Padgett Thursday, Jan. 18.

Campus Life

Remembering Darlene Norton, Professor Emerita

Darlene Norton, Professor Emerita, educator, leader, community health worker, nurse practitioner, mentor and patient advocate, passed away Jan. 13, 2024 in Albuquerque, N.M.

Campus Life

Faculty Women's Club Celebrates 50 Years

The FWC of the TTUHSC School of Medicine will hold a celebration dinner in honor of 50 years as an organization on February 7 at Skyviews restaurant in Lubbock.

Recent Stories


Twelve Full-Time TTUHSC Researchers Named to Latest World’s Top 2% of Scientists Rankings

Last fall, Stanford University/Elsevier’s sixth edition of the World’s Top 2% of Scientists List was released and included 12 full-time and three part-time researchers from TTUHSC.


Current Guidelines Advise Monitoring, Vigilance for Avian Flu

Monitoring the severity of infections of cattle and humans with flu H5N1 can be complex, with several factors at play.


TTUHSC SHP Ranks Among the Top in Texas and the Nation

A number of platforms, including U.S. News and World Report, released rankings highlighting the best Health Sciences University programs. The School of Health Professions programs ranked among the top.