TTUHSC Faculty Honored at Dean’s Faculty Appreciation Dinner

School of Medicine Awardees at the Dean's Faculty Award Dinner

The School of Medicine faculty were honored for their outstanding contributions to medical education, research, patient care and administration at the Dean’s Faculty Appreciation Dinner last month. Faculty awardees have made significant advances to the School of Medicine’s mission, reached incredible professional milestones, and have made personal sacrifices in order to better the health care provided within the community and beyond.

Lubbock Dean’s Awards Recipients

  • Dean's Basic Science Teaching Award - Year 1
     Ion Bobulescu, MD - Cell Biology & Biochemistry
  • Dean's Basic Science Teaching Award - Year 2
     Daniel Webster, PhD - Medical Education
  • Dean's Clinical Teaching Award
     Franklyn Babb, MD - Family & Community Medicine
  • Dean's Clinical Teaching Award
     Edward Yeomans, MD - Obstetrics & Gynecology
  • Dean's Clinical Teaching Award - Covenant Branch Campus
     Jamie Anderson, MD - Internal Medicine
  • Dean's Educational Innovation Award
     Mohammad (Mac) Ansari, MD - Internal Medicine
  • Dean's Douglas M. Stocco Scholarship/Research Award
     Khalid Benamar, PhD - Pharmacology & Neuroscience
  • Dean's Distinguished Faculty Service Award
     Jinesh Lachmansingh, MD - Anesthesiology
  • Dean's Distinguished Faculty Service Award
     Cooper Phillips, MD - Anesthesiology
  • Dean's Distinguished Faculty Service Award
     Fiona Prabhu, MD - Family & Community Medicine
  • Dean's Alpha Omega Alpha Service Award
     Lesley Motheral, MD - Pediatrics

Unsung Hero Recipients

Petar Grozdanov, PhD - Cell Biology & Biochemistry
Jamie Haynes, MD - Family & Community Medicine
Robert Bright, PhD - Immunology & Molecular Microbiology
Camilo Pena, MD - Internal Medicine
Alice Villalobos, PhD - Medical Education
Jannatul Ferdous, MD - Neurology
Roxana Campano, MD - Obstetrics & Gynecology
Catherine Reppa, MD - Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences
Travis Winston, MD - Orthopedic Surgery & Rehabilitation
Yusuf Dundar, MD - Otolaryngology
Safaa Labib, MD - Pathology
Tammy Camp, MD - Pediatrics
Igor Ponomarev, PhD - Pharmacology & Neuroscience
Tarrah Mitchell, PhD - Psychiatry
Robyn Richmond, MD - Surgery
Melissa Sanford, MD - Urology

Departmental Awards

Obstetrics & Gynecology - Outstanding Achievement in Teaching
Internal Medicine - Outstanding Achievement in Research
Dermatology - Outstanding Achievement in Patient Satisfaction
Neurology - Outstanding Achievement in Patient Satisfaction
Pediatrics - Outstanding Achievement in Patient Satisfaction

Permian Basin Dean’s Awards Recipients

  • Clinical Teaching Award
     Alejandra Garcia Fernandez, MD - Internal Medicine
  • Educational Innovation Award
     Sarah Kiani, MD - Internal Medicine
  • Douglas M. Stocco Scholarship/Research Award
     Gary Ventolini, MD - Obstetrics & Gynecology
  • Distinguished Faculty Service Award
     Ramachandra Chemitiganti, MD - Internal Medicine
  • Lifetime Achievement Award
     Donald Loveman, MD - Internal Medicine

Regional Dean’s Faculty Awards:

Regional Dean’s Teaching Award – Stephanie Villarreal, MD - Pediatrics
Regional Dean’s Research Award – Sarah Kiani, MD - Internal Medicine
Regional Dean’s Patient Care Award – Eileen Sheridan-Shayeb, MD - Pediatrics
Regional Dean’s Community Service Award – Adrian Billings, MD - Family Medicine

Outstanding Faculty Awards

(voted on/chosen by the students)

Family Medicine - Martin Ortega, MD
Internal Medicine - Vijay Eranki, MD
Obstetrics & Gynecology - Christopher Maguire, MD
Pediatrics - Stephanie Villarreal, MD
Psychiatry - Barbara Rila, PhD
Surgery - Shelton Viney, MD

Outstanding Faculty Awards:

(voted on/chosen by the residents)

Family Medicine - Marenda Dent, DO
Internal Medicine - Sia Siva Mungara, MD
Obstetrics & Gynecology - Christopher Enakpene, MD
Psychiatry - Shailesh "Bobby" Jain, MD

Amarillo Dean’s Awards Recipients

  • Dean's Clinical Teaching Award
    Ellen Hampsten, MD
    Walter Bridges, MD
  • Educational Innovation Award
    M. Haris Nazim, MD
  • Dean's Douglas M. Stocco Scholarship/Research Award
    Palika Datta, PhD
    Mark Sigler, MD
  • Distinguished Faculty Service Award
    Tarek Naguib, MD

Regional Department Awards:


New Faculty Teaching Award - Basem Soliman, MD, PhD
Departmental Service Award - Nathan Kragh, ENP
Clinical Teaching Award - Amy Sappington, ACNP
Outstanding Research Award - Shane Harper, PA-C, DMSC, DFAAPA

Family Medicine

Clinical Teaching Award - Sean Anderson, MD
Departmental Service Award - Nicole Lopez, MD

Internal Medicine

New Faculty Teaching Award - Kelly McMaster, MD
Clinical Teaching Award - Thien Vo, MD
Departmental Service Award - Karen Cutts, MD

Obstetrics and Gynecology

New Faculty Teaching Award - Brandon Haney, MD
Clinical Teaching Award - David Vineyard, MD
Outstanding Research Award - Robert Kauffman, MD
Unsung Hero Award - Sam Prien, PhD


New Faculty Award - Anders Leverton, MD
Clinical Teaching Award - Johnnie Faircloth, MD
Departmental Service Award - Janet Meller, MD
Outstanding Research Award - Alison Lunsford, MD


Clinical Teaching Award - Raja Kiani, MD

Research Awards

Department with the Most Publications - Pediatrics
Most Published Faculty Member - Kaytlin Krutsch, PhD
Most Published Department by Percentage - OB/GYN
Department with Most Resident Presenters - Family Medicine
Department with Most Student Presenters - Pediatrics


Related Stories

Campus Life

A Cultural Affair Raises More than $97,000 for TTUHSC Scholarships

SNMA celebrated diversity and raised more than $97,000 with the Night Under the Stars 13th Annual Scholarship Gala on Dec. 3.

Campus Life

Interprofessional Toy Fair and Expo Serves Families, Benefits Students

On October 15, the Office of Interprofessional Education (IPE) hosted the Interprofessional Toy Fair and Expo, created for children ages 0-3 who receive early intervention services for developmental delays and disabilities.

Campus Life

TTUHSC Distinguished Alumni Honored

The heroic actions of John Cheng, M.D., saved dozens of lives on May 15, 2022. At the TTUHSC Distinguished Alumni Awards, Cheng’s wife Elise was presented the first TTUHSC Presidential Award for Heroism.

Recent Stories


How Social Media is Impacting Healthcare

Moumita Choudhury Au.D., CCC-A, spoke about the present and future of social media’s impact on healthcare in general and on hearing healthcare specifically.


TTUHSC’s Cornwall Elected Fellow by American Association for the Advancement of Science

Gail Cornwall, Ph.D., professor in the Department of Cell Biology and Biochemistry at the TTUHSC, has been named a member of the American Association for the Advancement of Science Fellowship Class of 2022.


Study Seeks to Improve Pediatric Patient Safety by Addressing Language Barriers

To help address communication hurdles, the Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute (PCORI) has awarded a $438,756 subcontract to Tetyana L. Vasylyeva, M.D., Ph.D., from the TTUHSC School of Medicine.