Highlighting Innovation and Collaboration at TTUHSC

ttuhsc vision

The new vision at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC) aims to transform health care through innovation and collaboration. The vision is not only about the biggest names in science and leadership—everyone plays a vital role.

Below are some of the individuals who have been recognized by others within the TTUHSC community for upholding the university’s values-based culture while shaping the future of health care for our institution.

CIO Vince Fell - Helping resolve a fiber cut

On August 27, there was an unexpected fiber cut  in front of the UMC that led to a network shutdown for TTUHSC and beyond. TTUHSC, the TTU system and TTU communication services were all affected. Many who were working that day remember the confusion that surrounded this fiber cut, but Chief Information Officer and Vice President of Information Technology Vince Fell was at the forefront of the movement to resolve the issues and restore our network.

Fell spoke about the state of events at the following HSC Huddle--commending the groups involved and describing the incident as a “case study in teamwork.” Competitive vendors worked together to make what was described as a 2-week project reach its goal in 48.5 hours.

Dean Michael Evans and Dean Dawndra Sechrist - Adapting curriculums for the COVID-19 Pandemic

When the pandemic hit West Texas in the spring of 2020, the schools at TTUHSC were left with many unresolved questions. No one knew when there would be more in-person classes, or how to best teach the technical practices so necessary for the education of advanced health care. School of Nursing Dean Michael Evans, Ph.D., R.N., FAAN and School of Health Professions Dean Dawndra Sechrist, OTR, Ph.D., both stepped up as exceptional innovators in shaping and adapting their respective curriculums to fit the new COVID-19 environment.

Evans is a 2020 Texas Nurses Association Leader and Grover E. Murray Professor and Sechrist is the former director of the Master of Occupational Therapy program at TTUHSC. Both of their contributions of flexible and creative thinking minimized the pressure and strangeness for TTUHSC students who are trying to learn and grow into health care professionals during a pandemic.

Anna M. McGregor - Spearheading innovative coding collaboration and education

As a past institutional advancement development director and a 33-year member of the TTUHSC family, Anna M. McGregor, CLP, CPC, CPCO, CPMA, CEMC, CEMA is currently the director for coding integrity for the School of Medicine. Their department upholds values-based culture in their aim to “support Texas Tech Physicians through interdepartmental relationships, coding collaborations and education.” Their vision is to bring innovative coding technology and process to Texas Tech Physicians while enhancing productivity and quality, strengthening the individual coder’s experience.

Related Stories

TTUHSC’s Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences Hosts Student Research Week

The Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC) Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences hosted its 34th Annual Student Research Week March 8-11.

TTUHSC Researcher Receives NIH Grant to Study Vulnerabilities in Specific Cancer Types

The National Cancer Institute awarded a five-year, $1.9 million grant to C. Patrick Reynolds, M.D., Ph.D., director for the School of Medicine Cancer Center at TTUHSC.

The Hype Around Artificial Intelligence

Richard Greenhill, DHA, FISQua, FACHE, discusses the hype and reality surrounding AI in healthcare.

Recent Stories


TTUHSC Announces the Julia Jones Matthews School of Population and Public Health

The school, which is the sixth at the university, aims to train future health care leaders in population and public health.


TTUHSC Jerry H. Hodge School of Pharmacy Class of 2022 Honored at Commencement Ceremony

The TTUHSC Jerry H. Hodge School of Pharmacy celebrated the Class of 2022 May 21 with its annual commencement ceremony.


Living with Dysphagia

Dysphagia is a swallowing disorder that affects a person’s ability to eat or drink, affecting between 300,000 and 700,000 people in the United States each year.