Sechrist Named New TTUHSC School of Health Professions Dean

Dawndra Sechrist, OTR, Ph.D.

Dawndra Sechrist, OTR, Ph.D.

The Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC) named Dawndra Sechrist, OTR, Ph.D., as the new dean of the School of Health Professions.

Sechrist is the associate dean for Outcomes and Assessment at the TTUHSC School of Health Professions and a tenured associate professor. She previously was the director of the Master of Occupational Therapy program at TTUHSC. Sechrist joined TTUHSC in 2001 as an assistant professor. She received her Ph.D. from Texas Tech University (TTU), a master’s in occupational therapy from Texas Women’s University and bachelor degrees in occupational therapy from TTUHSC and physical education from TTU.

“Dr. Sechrist's passion for TTUHSC is evident and will no doubt be reflected in her position as dean and her demonstrated successes at TTUHSC will help to advance the school's momentum as our university continues to move forward,” TTUHSC Interim President Lori Rice-Spearman, Ph.D., said.

Sechrist also served as the interprofessional education (IPE) director and assisted with the coordination of fall and spring IPE Days, increasing the number of collaborative IPE events to more than 35 school registered activities.

TTUHSC recently completed the process of seeking reaffirmation of accreditation through the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges on which Sechrist assisted as the school representative that coordinated and reported to the Office of Institutional Effectiveness.

She also organized the school’s strategic plan for the past four years and led their strategic planning retreats to update and align the school’s mission, vision and goals with those of the university. Sechrist was the committee co-chair for the School of Health Professions Academic Affairs and the Student Conduct board chair and Academic Dismissal Appeal Committee chair.

Rice-Spearman said the School of Health Professions is an integral part of the university’s mission to enrich the lives of others through health education, research and patient care and she is confident Sechrist will excel in leading the school to fulfill its purpose.

Sechrist succeeds Rice-Spearman, who served as dean from 2016 - 2019. Steven Sawyer, Ph.D., P.T., served as interim dean over the past eight months.

Related Stories

TTUHSC’s Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences Hosts Student Research Week

The Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC) Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences hosted its 34th Annual Student Research Week March 8-11.

TTUHSC Researcher Receives NIH Grant to Study Vulnerabilities in Specific Cancer Types

The National Cancer Institute awarded a five-year, $1.9 million grant to C. Patrick Reynolds, M.D., Ph.D., director for the School of Medicine Cancer Center at TTUHSC.

The Hype Around Artificial Intelligence

Richard Greenhill, DHA, FISQua, FACHE, discusses the hype and reality surrounding AI in healthcare.

Recent Stories


Developing Troubleshooting Skills in Molecular Pathology Students

Ericka Hendrix, PhD, MB(ASCP)cm, spoke about the training and education involved for diagnostic molecular scientists and how the pandemic has affected the role.


Celebrating Collaboration — TTUHSC and City of Abilene Unveil New Julia Jones Matthews School of Population and Public Health

TTUHSC and members of the Abilene community today (June 29) celebrated the official unveiling the new Julia Jones Matthews School of Population and Public Health.


A Sixth School for a Brighter Future

On June 29, the opening celebration event for the Julia Jones Matthews School of Population and Public Health will recognize many years of hard work and look ahead to the start of a new and exciting journey.