2019 Graduates Honored

More than 1,000 graduates walk the stage

Congratulations to the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC) 2019 graduating class. This year TTUHSC graduated more than 1,000 students in medicine, nursing, health professions, biomedical sciences and pharmacy.

TTUHSC is one of the largest health care institutions in the state, with more than 28,000 alumni who impact health care throughout the U.S. 

TTUHSC students excel in academics, innovation, community outreach, and extracurricular engagement. Highest acheiving students for each school were recognized for their exceptional efforts at TTUHSC. 

Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences

GSBS Commencement

The Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences had 69 students graduate. The Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences includes programs in biomedical sciences, biotechnology, pharmaceutical sciences and public health. 
K. Wyatt McMahon Outstanding Graduate Student –
Dylan Meyer, Ph.D.
Dean’s Recognition Award–
Manuel Ramos, M.S.
Outstanding Public Health Award–
Asher George, MPH

TTUHSC School of Health Professions

Health Professions Commencement

The School of Health Professions graduated 307 students. These students graduated from 20 diverse undergraduate and graduate programs on the Amarillo, Permian Basin and Lubbock campuses.

Dean’s Award for Excellence

Undergraduate Recipient
Felicia Ashley Williamson 
 Bachelor of Science in Clinical Laboratory Sciences

Graduate Recipient
Rebecca Lynn Martin 
Doctor of Audiology

Research Recipient
Mark Patrick William 
PhD in Rehabilitation Sciences

TTUHSC School of Medicine

Medicine Graduating Class

The School of Medicine graduating class included 171 graduates. Graduates matched in top residency programs throughout the country with programs such as Mayo Clinic, Stanford, Emory, Naval Medical Center and Massachussets General Hospital.
This year’s graduating class also included three MD/PhD recipients, thirteen MD/MBA recipients, five MD/MPH recipients, and five Family Medicine Accelerated Track (FMAT) Recipients.
Dean’s Highest Academic Achievement Award –
Chelsea Burroughs

Dean’s Recognition Award –
Jeremiah Moon
Zachary Mortensen
Vincent Athas

Gold Headed Cane –
Andrew Hudson
Buesseler Award for Student Excellence –
Andrew Hudson
Ben Aziz 

TTUHSC School of Nursing

Nursing Commencement

The School of Nursing had 417 students graduate. This included undergraduate, graduate and doctoral level students.
Excellence in Nursing Award –
DNP –  Stephanie “Steph” Hoelscher
RN to BSN –  Melissa Castro
Traditional BSN –  Kendra Hoffman
Dean’s Leadership Award – 
Brennan Gillilan, Traditional BSN  
Turning Evidence into Action Award  – 
Reid Moore, Traditional BSN
Maura Mangan, Traditional BSN

TTUHSC School of Pharmacy

Pharmacy Commencement

The School of Pharmacy graduated 145 students this year, including students from the Amarillo, Abilene, Lubbock and Dallas TTUHSC campuses.  
Banner Bearer – Brendon Clough  
Bowl of Hygieia – Michael Dean 
Wolters Kluwer Excellence in Clinical Communication – Erica Dominguez
Excellence in Community Practice – Kyle Kleckner 
Superior Patient Care – Neely Hudson
Geriatrics Award – Nicole Buzzard 
Pediatrics Award – Joseph Vu 
Community Outreach Award – Lydia Girgis 
Mylan Millad – Sobhanian 
Hannah Thompson Perseverance Award – Posthumously to Hannah Thompson 

Related Stories

TTUHSC’s Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences Hosts Student Research Week

The Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC) Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences hosted its 34th Annual Student Research Week March 8-11.

TTUHSC Researcher Receives NIH Grant to Study Vulnerabilities in Specific Cancer Types

The National Cancer Institute awarded a five-year, $1.9 million grant to C. Patrick Reynolds, M.D., Ph.D., director for the School of Medicine Cancer Center at TTUHSC.

The Hype Around Artificial Intelligence

Richard Greenhill, DHA, FISQua, FACHE, discusses the hype and reality surrounding AI in healthcare.

Recent Stories


TTUHSC Class of 2022 Honored at Commencement Ceremonies

The Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC) recently hosted traditional commencement ceremonies for its 1,595-member Class of 2022.


TTUHSC Announces the Julia Jones Matthews School of Population and Public Health

The school, which is the sixth at the university, aims to train future health care leaders in population and public health.


TTUHSC Jerry H. Hodge School of Pharmacy Class of 2022 Honored at Commencement Ceremony

The TTUHSC Jerry H. Hodge School of Pharmacy celebrated the Class of 2022 May 21 with its annual commencement ceremony.