TTUHSC Jerry H. Hodge School of Pharmacy Establishes New Fellowship

Pharmacy Fellowship Group

Left to right: Carlos Alvarez, Trey Putnam, Jaffar Raza and Ron Hall

The Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC) Jerry H. Hodge School of Pharmacy recently announced the start of a Clinical, Translational and Regulatory Sciences (CTR) fellowship, which was designed to develop high quality professionals engaged in producing exceptional work in clinical, translational or regulatory sciences in an industry, government or academic environment.

“The School of Pharmacy has a rich history in both post-graduate residency training and providing excellent graduate programs,” Ron Hall, Pharm.D., said. “The addition of the CTR fellowship provides a new opportunity within the school to develop researchers with a clinical and/or regulatory focus. The CTR fellow will receive excellent training in clinical, translational and regulatory sciences that will allow them to be competitive for research-related positions in industry, government or academia.”

Hall, an associate professor for TTUHSC’s Department of Pharmacy Practice in Dallas, will serve as the fellowship liaison and mentor. Students from any TTUHSC campus are eligible apply for the one- to two-year fellowship, which will be hosted on TTUHSC’s Dallas campus. Hall said external candidates are also encouraged to apply.

Carlos Alvarez, Pharm.D., BCPS, said there are currently two tracks available to fellows: pharmacoepidemiology and regulatory sciences. Alvarez, who also serves as an associate professor for the Department of Pharmacy Practice in Dallas, is director of the pharmacoepidemiology track. Trey Putnam, Ph.D., RAC, a professor in the same department, directs the regulatory sciences track.

“The CTR Fellowship provides the fellow with necessary knowledge to be successful through didactic coursework, the Translational Science Forum series, monthly journal clubs and practicums,” Alvarez said.

Jaffar Raza

Jaffar Raza, Pharm.D., MBA

Jaffar Raza, Pharm.D., MBA, recently was named the inaugural CTR fellow. Raza earned his Pharm.D. in May from TTUHSC and his MBA from the Texas Tech University Rawls College of Business through TTUHSC’s Pharm.D./MBA dual degree program.

"It is a privilege to be selected as the inaugural fellow at my alma mater,” Raza said. “I look forward to taking this fellowship program to new heights under the leadership of Drs. Alvarez and Putnam."

Story produced by the Office of Communications and Marketing, (806) 743-2143.

School of Pharmacy


The School of Pharmacy was established in 1996 and now has campuses in Amarillo, Lubbock, Dallas and Abilene. Since its inception, the school has played a significant role in addressing the state's pharmacist shortage. Today, more than 90 percent of its graduates remain in Texas.

The school requires its students to complete more clinical training hours than any other pharmacy program in the country, making its students some of the most sought after graduates.