TTUHSC Organizations Honored at Celebrity Luncheon

Barbershop Group

Students from Barbershop Blood Pressure Group with Steven L. Berk, Dean of TTUHSC School of Medicine.

Two Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center organizations were honored with awards at the 2019 Association for Women in Communications (AWC) Celebrity Luncheon this month.

The Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center: The Barber Shop Blood Pressure Group was honored with a Headliner Award. Headliner awards are presented to people whose achievements or contributions have received widespread positive recognition through the media.


A Gold Medal Award was presented to Bernhard Mittemeyer, M.D. for the Mittemeyer and Murphy: VA Superclinic

Additionally, a Gold Medal Award was presented to Bernhard Mittemeyer, M.D. for the Mittemeyer and Murphy: VA Superclinic. This award is presented to people who, over an extended period of time, have worked to improve the quality of life for a broad spectrum of those living in the Lubbock area.

Annette Sobel, Ph.D. was also recognized at the AWC Celebrity Luncheon as a Gold Medal Award recipient. Sobel is a family medicine physician and holds appointments as associate professor in the TTUHSC School of Medicine Department of Medical Education. She is an adjunct in the schools of Nursing and Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences. Additionally, she is an adjunct in the Texas Tech University Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.

 The Association for Women in Communications is a national professional organization that champions the advancement of women across all communications disciplines by recognizing excellence, promoting leadership and positioning its members at the forefront of the evolving communications era. For 35 years, the AWC Lubbock Professional Chapter has honored local people whose accomplishments have made Lubbock and the surrounding area a great place to live and work.

Congratulations to our TTUHSC organizations on their remarkable achievement.

Story produced by the Office of Communications and Marketing, (806) 743-2143.

School of Medicine

School of Medicine

Since 1969, the School of Medicine has graduated more than 3,000 physicians. The school aims to provide quality lab space, recruit creative, innovative research faculty, and develop graduate students and postdoctoral fellows for lifelong careers in medical research.

Today, more than 20 percent of the practicing physicians in West Texas have graduated from the School of Medicine or its residency programs.