Pharmacy Faculty Named ACCP Fellow, PRN Chair

Molly Minze and Kalin Clifford

Molly Minze and Kalin Clifford

Molly Minze, Pharm.D., and Kalin Clifford, Pharm.D., from the TTUHSC School of Pharmacy Department of Pharmacy Practice were honored by their peers Oct. 20-23 at the American College of Clinical Pharmacy (ACCP) Global Conference in Seattle.

Minze, an associate professor on the Abilene campus, was named an ACCP Fellow, the highest honor the organization can award its members. In addition to being a full ACCP member for at least five years and a practicing clinical pharmacist for a minimum of 10 years, ACCP Fellows must have made a sustained contribution to the organization and demonstrated a consistently high level of excellence in clinical pharmacy practice, research or both.

After being nominated by an existing ACCP Fellow, Minze had to complete a comprehensive application that was objectively reviewed and measured by the ACCP Credentials Fellowship Committee. Practice and research criteria evaluated by the committee include examples of patient care services or educational programs developed by the nominee. The committee also considers the nominee’s certifications, credentials, professional activities and awards; drug therapy management responsibilities and consultancy; service to publications; and original research presentations, projects, funding and publications. After the committee’s evaluation, the ACCP Board of Regents must then approve the application.

Minze, who also is the incoming chair for ACCP’s Endocrine and Metabolism Practice and Research Network (PRN), said being named an ACCP Fellow is an honor that is second only to her promotion to associate professor.

“The fellowship recognizes being a pharmacy clinician at the highest level,” Minze said. “I set out to be a clinical pharmacist in my third year of pharmacy school, and to be recognized as a fellow — one who has consistently provided excellence in clinical practice over at least 10 years — is such an honor.”

Clifford, an assistant professor on the Dallas campus, was named chair for ACCP’s Geriatrics PRN, which is comprised of clinical pharmacists who are dedicated to the care of older persons and issues related related to aging. Its goals include providing geriatrics and aging programing to its members and to generating opportunities for PRN members to network so they share information and develop collaborative research.

“It is a great honor to be elected by my peers on a national level to serve in this role,” Clifford said.

Clifford will serve as the Geriatric PRN chair-elect through September 2019. His one-year term as the group’s chair will run from October 2019 through September 2020.

As chair-elect, Clifford’s responsibilities will include developing geriatric programming for ACCP’s 2019 meeting, overseeing the geriatric committee’s work and nominations for committee positions, assisting the chair and coordinating other special projects as determined by PRN needs and objectives. Minze and Clifford

Related Stories

How Does Your Garden Grow?

As spring approaches, some people’s thoughts turn to gardening. Whether it’s a flower garden they desire or a vegetable garden want to have, they begin planning what they’ll plant and what they need to do to ensure a successful garden.

Adopt a Growth Mindset for a Better Life

A “growth mindset” accepts that our intelligence and talents can develop over time, and a person with that mindset understands that intelligence and talents can improve through effort and learning.

Drug Use, Family History Can Lead to Heart Disease in Younger Adults

Abstaining from drug abuse and an early diagnosis of familial hypercholesterolemia (high cholesterol) can help prevent heart disease.

Recent Stories


School of Pharmacy Remembers Contributions of Key Collaborator

Cynthia Nash, Pharm.D., served as an Adjunct Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Practice for the School, and was an instrumental collaborator and key ally in our partnership with the Dallas VA North Texas Health Care System.


Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center Expert Elected 2024–2025 American Pharmacists Association House of Delegates Speaker-Elect

The American Pharmacists Association (APhA) announced that Mary S. Klein, Pharm.D., was elected the 2024–2025 speaker-elect of the APhA House of Delegates.


Free Clinic Offered for Women’s Health Day

The Free Clinic, staffed by TTUHSC School of Medicine students, will host Women’s Health Day Clinic from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. on April 27.