The 99 Club: Texas Tech Physicians Ranking High


This year 22 Texas Tech Physicians’ providers were recognized as members of the “99 Club.” To earn this status, providers must be ranked at the 99th percentile for a full year of seeing patients. This is the inaugural year of this recognition. The percentile rank is calculated exclusively from survey responses completed by patients seen by a provider in 2017. In order to be eligible, a provider must have a minimum of 30 surveys returned by their patients. A ranking of the 99th percentile is the highest possible. 
“The ranking compares our providers to other providers across the United States that use Press Ganey as their partner in patient-experience feedback and management,” said Dennis Lamb, chief experience officer for Texas Tech Physicians.  “A large majority of medical schools across the country, upwards of 70 percent, utilize Press Ganey.  This ranking is a clear indication that we have a very good share of the high performing practitioners in academic centers across the U.S. And most importantly, it is evident Texas Tech Physicians is well on the way to being a top tier medical practice nationally recognized in quality, satisfaction and value.”

The 99 Club recipients are:
Russell Akin, M.D. – Department of Dermatology
Aliakbar Arvandi, M.D. – Department of Internal Medicine
Dolores Buscemi, M.D. – Department of Internal Medicine
Ronald Cook, D.O., MBA – Department of Family and Community Medicine
Joehassin Cordero, M.D. – Department of Otolaryngology
Clint Gregg, M.D. – Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences
Allan Haynes, Jr., M.D. – Department of Urology
Brendan MacKay, M.D. – Department of Orthopaedic Surgery and Rehabilitation
Taryn Mathews, O.D. - Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences
Neha Mittal, M.D. – Department of Internal Medicine
Lesley Motheral, M.D. – Department of Pediatrics
Thomas Nelius, M.D., Ph.D. – Department of Urology
Kenneth Nugent, M.D. – Department of Internal Medicine
Jennifer Phy, D.O. – Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
Michael Phy, D.O. – Department of Internal Medicine
Fiona Prabhu, M.D. – Department of Family and Community Medicine
Robert Scott, M.D. – Department of Pediatrics
Randall Sheets, M.D. – Department of Family and Community Medicine
Anurag Singh, M.D. – Department of Internal Medicine
Henrik Wilms, M.D. – Department of Neurology

Story produced by the Office of Communications and Marketing, (806) 743-2143.

School of Medicine

School of Medicine

Since 1969, the School of Medicine has graduated more than 3,000 physicians. The school aims to provide quality lab space, recruit creative, innovative research faculty, and develop graduate students and postdoctoral fellows for lifelong careers in medical research.

Today, more than 20 percent of the practicing physicians in West Texas have graduated from the School of Medicine or its residency programs.

Texas Tech Physicians

Texas Tech Physicians

Texas Tech Physicians is a physician group and part of the School of Medicine and the Paul L. Foster School of Medicine.

Clinics are located in Amarillo, El Paso, Lubbock and the Permian Basin, encompassing 108 counties of Texas and New Mexico comprising 103,000 square miles with a population of 2.6 million people. Receiving care in a medical school setting is unique – many Texas Tech Physicians are also teachers. They must remain up-to-date in new treatments and diagnostics, not only to care for their patients, but also to pass on that knowledge to resident physicians, physicians studying in fellowships and medical students.

Connect with Texas Tech Physicians on Facebook and Twitter.