Pharmacy Students, Faculty Participate in ACU’s Maker Fest

Abilene Maker FestSiva Koganti, Ph.D., an assistant professor for the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences in Abilene, and Sara Brouse, Abilene regional dean for the School of Pharmacy, led a group of pharmacy students who participated in the Maker Fest, an April 5 event organized by Abilene Christian University.

Koganti said the event allows participants to set up a booth and demonstrate how they make a specific product.

“We from the compound pharmacy lab interacted with the kids and made some simple non-medicated sugar syrup so they could taste different combinations of flavors and colors and decide the flavor they liked the most,” Koganti said. “Additionally, we made some lip balm, showed the kids intravenous calcium-phosphate incompatibility and allowed them to play with and use a mortar and pestle.”

Event participants from the School of Pharmacy included third-year (P3) student Caroline Gafford, P3 Le Nguyen(P3) and P2s Gilbert Aguirre, Yaze Li and Justin Langreck.

Related Stories

How Does Your Garden Grow?

As spring approaches, some people’s thoughts turn to gardening. Whether it’s a flower garden they desire or a vegetable garden want to have, they begin planning what they’ll plant and what they need to do to ensure a successful garden.

Adopt a Growth Mindset for a Better Life

A “growth mindset” accepts that our intelligence and talents can develop over time, and a person with that mindset understands that intelligence and talents can improve through effort and learning.

Drug Use, Family History Can Lead to Heart Disease in Younger Adults

Abstaining from drug abuse and an early diagnosis of familial hypercholesterolemia (high cholesterol) can help prevent heart disease.

Recent Stories


TTUHSC’s La-Beck to Use NIH Grant to Study Cancer Drug Delivery Via Nanoparticles

Ninh (Irene) La-Beck, Pharm.D., with the TTUHSC Jerry H. Hodge School of Pharmacy, received a five-year, $2.49 million grant to investigate how nanoparticles interact with the immune system and cancer.


TTUHSC’s Wilkerson to Investigate Links Between Pain and Basal Sex Hormone Levels

To help investigate the influence basal sex hormone alterations may have on chronic post-op pain, the NIH recently awarded a grant to Jenny Wilkerson, Ph.D., from the Jerry H. Hodge School of Pharmacy.


Tackling Heart Health for Athletes

Scott Shurmur, M.D., a cardiologist at the Texas Tech Physicians Center for Cardiovascular Health, shared his expertise and his experience as a former collegiate athlete.