Making a Difference: The Free Clinic Extraordinary Volunteers

Christine Lin

“I wanted to be involved with The Free Clinic Leadership team because I aspire to cultivate my understanding of health disparities by being in a position that gives me the freedom to take initiative with projects, coordinate with health care personnel and work closely with a patient population in need. The team and I are not only responsible for the care of patients on Wednesdays but also responsible for the best care possible for days in between by making patient calls throughout the week and checking for any critical lab values we receive.
I have learned to hold myself accountable to long-term health outcomes by building relationships through continuity of patient care, which parallels what I would like to do in my future practice. I love being on the team and interacting with our patients, physicians, nurses, pharmacists, social workers, church staff and medical volunteers.”
Christine Lin, a second-year medical student and The Free Clinic leadership team member, is from Austin, Texas and received her undergraduate degree from Harvard University.

Related Stories

How Does Your Garden Grow?

As spring approaches, some people’s thoughts turn to gardening. Whether it’s a flower garden they desire or a vegetable garden want to have, they begin planning what they’ll plant and what they need to do to ensure a successful garden.

Adopt a Growth Mindset for a Better Life

A “growth mindset” accepts that our intelligence and talents can develop over time, and a person with that mindset understands that intelligence and talents can improve through effort and learning.

Drug Use, Family History Can Lead to Heart Disease in Younger Adults

Abstaining from drug abuse and an early diagnosis of familial hypercholesterolemia (high cholesterol) can help prevent heart disease.

Recent Stories


School of Pharmacy Remembers Contributions of Key Collaborator

Cynthia Nash, Pharm.D., served as an Adjunct Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Practice for the School, and was an instrumental collaborator and key ally in our partnership with the Dallas VA North Texas Health Care System.


Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center Expert Elected 2024–2025 American Pharmacists Association House of Delegates Speaker-Elect

The American Pharmacists Association (APhA) announced that Mary S. Klein, Pharm.D., was elected the 2024–2025 speaker-elect of the APhA House of Delegates.


Free Clinic Offered for Women’s Health Day

The Free Clinic, staffed by TTUHSC School of Medicine students, will host Women’s Health Day Clinic from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. on April 27.