TTUHSC Recognizes Distinguished Alumni

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC) recently recognized Distinguished Alumni from each school and named Richard C. Johnston, M.D., the 2016 Presidential Distinguished Alumni Award recipient.

TTUHSC President Tedd L. Mitchell, M.D., established the Presidential Distinguished Alumni Award in 2016, making it the highest honor bestowed to an alumnus by the university.

“Our alumni set the highest standards for health care professionals everywhere,” Mitchell said. “The Presidential Distinguished Alumni Award honors alumni, like Dr. Johnston, who exemplify TTUHSC’s tradition of excellence in service to others. Dr. Johnston has brought honor to our university by his personal accomplishments and professional achievements. He has dedicated his life to the care of patients throughout Texas.” 

Recognizing outstanding alumni from each school is a tradition at TTUHSC that dates back to 1999. Distinguished Alumni are selected from nominations at-large based on accomplishments from the previous year. The awards reflect the alumni’s commitment to excellence and community service while making significant contributions to the health care profession. 

“Our alumni are compelled to help their community,” said Julie Doss, J.D., senior director of Alumni Relations. “It is in their nature and the nature of their profession. We are proud to recognize the contributions they’ve made throughout their careers and the positive reputation they’ve given TTUHSC.”

2016 Distinguished Alumni

Presidential Distinguished Alumni Award

Richard C. Johnston, M.D., FACP, School of Medicine,’75










Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences

Kendra Rumbaugh, Ph.D.,’01

School of Health Professions

Steve Alaniz, MPT, ’07

Jeffery Barnhart, MSCPM, ’13

Matt Berend, MRC, LBSW, ’15

Karen Copple, Ph.D., ’11

Sissy Ann Hinojos, MPAS, ’12 

School of Medicine

Sharmila Dissanaike, M.D., ’06

Craig D. Rhyne, M.D., ’86

Roger Wolcott, M.D., ’92 

School of Nursing

Melanie Ann Richburg, DNP, ’13

Sylvain Trepanier, DNP, ’11

School of Pharmacy

Steve Rodriguez, Pharm.D., ’01

Lyndsi White, Pharm.D., ’06 

Visit TTUHSC Alumni Relations at learn more about each recipient.

Related Stories

Remembering Dr. Tom McGovern

TTUHSC Celebration of Life Service was held March 25th in remembrance of Tom McGovern, Ed.D.

TTUHSC Ranks Fourth Nationally Among Graduate Institutions as a Military Friendly® School

TTUHSC has been named as a Military Friendly® School for 2022-2023. Among graduate schools, TTUHSC ranked fourth in the nation, achieving Gold award status.

TTUHSC Jerry H. Hodge School of Pharmacy Students Celebrate Residency Assignments on Match Day

On March 16, fourth-year TTUHSC Jerry H. Hodge School of Pharmacy students interested in completing a residency after they graduate in May, learned where they would spend the next stage of their training during the Pharmacy Residency Match Day.

Recent Stories


A Road Both Difficult and Rewarding

APRN student Lori Kenny’s journey to nursing began at only 12 years old. After her mother’s stage IV breast cancer diagnosis, Kenny started to help with home health care.


Men, Women at Risk for Breast Cancer

Breast cancer is the second most common cancer and the second leading cause of cancer deaths among women in the United States.


Free Clinic Offered for Women’s Health Day

TTUHSC School of Medicine students will host a Women’s Health Day free clinic from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. Nov. 5 at The Free Clinic located at Lubbock Impact, 2707 34th St.