2017 Faculty Awards

TTUHSC Leadership

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC) held the State of the University Address and Faculty Awards Convocation Nov. 7. Awards were given to outstanding faculty who have gone above and beyond in areas of interprofessionalism, research, community engagement, academics and health care.


Recipients of the 2017 faculty awards include:

President’s Early Career Investigator Award

Irene La-Beck, Pharm.D.

President’s Excellence in Interprofessional Teamwork Award

A Day in the Life: Emergency Room

Ruth Bargainer, MSN, R.N.

Kathryn Whitcomb, DNP, R.N.

April Beckling, MSN, R.N.

Terran Keidl, BSN, R.N.

Young Lee, Pharm.D., BCPS

Chephra McKee, Pharm.D., BCPPS

Bethany Ibach, Pharm.D., BCPPS

Christina Robohm-Leavitt, M.S., PA-C

President’s Excellence in Community Engagement Award

Susan Calloway, Ph.D., FNP

President’s Excellence in Teaching Award

Krystal Haase, Pharm.D.

President’s Excellence in Teaching Team Award


Melinda Mitchell Jones, MSN, J.D.

Deborah Sikes, DNP, R.N.

Patricia Francis-Johnson, DNP, R.N.

Jana Saunders Cookman, Ph.D., PMH

Laura Opton, DHSc, R.N.

Deborah Casida, MSN, R.N. 

President’s Excellence in Research Award

Volker Neugebauer, M.D., Ph.D. 

President’s Outstanding Clinician Award

Rebecca Burpo, DNP, MSN

University Distinguished Professors

John DeToledo, M.D.

Barbara Sawyer, Ph.D., MLS (ASCP)

Michael Blanton, Ph.D.

Jane Ann Colmer-Hamood, Ph.D.

Vaughan Lee, Ph.D.

Harold Werner, M.D., FACE






Related Stories

Remembering Dr. Tom McGovern

TTUHSC Celebration of Life Service was held March 25th in remembrance of Tom McGovern, Ed.D.

TTUHSC Ranks Fourth Nationally Among Graduate Institutions as a Military Friendly® School

TTUHSC has been named as a Military Friendly® School for 2022-2023. Among graduate schools, TTUHSC ranked fourth in the nation, achieving Gold award status.

TTUHSC Jerry H. Hodge School of Pharmacy Students Celebrate Residency Assignments on Match Day

On March 16, fourth-year TTUHSC Jerry H. Hodge School of Pharmacy students interested in completing a residency after they graduate in May, learned where they would spend the next stage of their training during the Pharmacy Residency Match Day.

Recent Stories


TTUHSC Receives CPRIT Grant to Begin New Outreach Effort

CPRIT recently awarded a $1 million prevention grant to Rakhshanda Rahman, M.D., Rebeccah Baucom, M.D., and John Kidwell, M.D., from the TTUHSC School of Medicine.


Startups Begin Here! Four Startups Awarded $50,000 from TTUHSC President

The Innovation Hub at Research Park today (September 26, 2022) announced the winners of its annual Presidents' Innovative Startup Awards. The award recognizes startups that have a high potential for growth and an economic impact in West Texas.


Fifth Graders Become Doctors for a Day

Fifth graders from Bean Elementary School became doctors for a day. The Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC) Student National Medical Association (SNMA) hosted the Doctors for a Day Minicamp on Sept. 23.