Abilene SGA Socializes at Spring Events

Spring 2017 presented a pair of opportunities for students, faculty, staff and the community to get together at evening events on the TTUHSC-Abilene campus organized by the TTUHSC Student Government Association.


Student Government Association Hosts Inaugural TTUHSC Student Night

by Sydney Kutter

TTUHSC AbileneSnocones, barbecue, ice cream, oh my! These delicious indulgences were all available for the 150+ students who attended the first TTUHSC Student Night hosted by the Student Government Association (SGA). The event was held on a beautiful spring night in mid-March in the bustling parking lot of the new Public Health Building. 

Student Night consisted of free snow cones, cotton candy, and live music for all of those in attendance. Yard games like corn toss and Frisbees were set up around the parking lot for students to be entertained and enjoy some relaxation. 

“This event was created in hopes that students could enjoy a break away from studying, eat some great food, play some games and meet other students from all of our health professions,” P4 and SGA President Bailey Caton said. “We hope to continue these events in future semesters, as a way for the Student Government to give back to our awesome students at TTUHSC.” 

SGA Senators have made it a point to unite the entire through events like Student Night, and they’ve done just that. The SGA consists of senators from the Schools of Pharmacy and Nursing, the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences and the future School of Public Health. The campus senators have been attending monthly meetings held by the Executive Council, and are then in charge of disseminating important campus information to their respective classes. 

SGA will soon be replacing its graduating members with new members from each of the TTUHSC Abilene schools, and they will be sending out application information as the new academic year approaches. Leading the way for the 2017-2018 year will be the Executive Council, which includes rising P4 Sehrish Panjwani, rising P3 Nicole Buzzard and rising P2 Jacob Rogers


Abilene SGA Spring Festival Fun

by Ricardo Flores

TTUHSC AbileneBalloon animals, booths, cotton candy, food trucks, mascots, popcorn, prizes, and puppets were aplenty April 13 at the annual TTUHSC Abilene campus Spring Festival hosted by the Student Government Association (SGA). Abilene students came out and manned booths to educate children in the community about the importance of health. While there was an emphasis on health education, children and parents still enjoyed mounds of cotton candy and popcorn! Texas Doughboys and 1881 Food Trucks also served up delightful kolaches and brisket tacos to attendees. An enormous thank you goes out to third-year pharmacy student (P#3) Hayden Stewart and P2 Nicole Buzzard, both of whom are senators involved in SGA and worked diligently for months in advance to plan the Spring Festival. One final thank you goes to the Abilene TTUHSC student body for sacrificing their precious study time to providing education and entertainment to the Abilene community! 

Related Stories

How Does Your Garden Grow?

As spring approaches, some people’s thoughts turn to gardening. Whether it’s a flower garden they desire or a vegetable garden want to have, they begin planning what they’ll plant and what they need to do to ensure a successful garden.

Adopt a Growth Mindset for a Better Life

A “growth mindset” accepts that our intelligence and talents can develop over time, and a person with that mindset understands that intelligence and talents can improve through effort and learning.

Drug Use, Family History Can Lead to Heart Disease in Younger Adults

Abstaining from drug abuse and an early diagnosis of familial hypercholesterolemia (high cholesterol) can help prevent heart disease.

Recent Stories


PAs and Telehealth: Increasing Access to Patient Care

The PA profession and telehealth were both created to improve and expand access to patient care. PA Abby Buterbaugh discussed the value that her profession and telehealth has brought to health care.


Food Allergy Awareness, Prevention Ahead of Summer Fun

James Tarbox, M.D., Texas Tech Physicians allergist, discussed food allergies and treatments.


National Academy of Inventors Ranks Texas Tech University System Among Top 100 in Patents for Second Consecutive Year

The TTU System, including the TTUHSC and TTUHSC El Paso, ranked 74th on the NAI list of Top 100 U.S. Universities Granted Utility Patents for 2023.