GiRL Power 2017 Announced

GiRL PowerIn 2009 the Laura W. Bush Institute for Women’s Health launched GiRL Power, an educational program designed to promote self-esteem, develop life skills and inspire positive motivation in pre-teen girls. This annual event educates 10- to 13-year-old girls and their mothers or caregivers by providing information regarding nutrition, exercise, personal safety and a host of other wellness topics. The institute partners with community leaders, parents, Amarillo ISD and with our financial partner, Happy State Bank, who all share the passion to see young girls succeed in life.

This year, we gladly welcome our guest speaker, Ginger Kerrick, who currently works as a NASA flight director. The event will be held Thursday, Oct. 12 from 6-9 p.m. in the Amarillo Civic Center. Cost to attend the event is $5 per person; registration is available online on the Laura Bush Institute website or by phone at (806) 414.9943.

The institute invites those who have daughters this age to come out to the event and to invite anyone you know who has a daughters this age to attend. GiRL Power is about helping girls become healthy women and we hope to see you all there!

Related Stories

How Does Your Garden Grow?

As spring approaches, some people’s thoughts turn to gardening. Whether it’s a flower garden they desire or a vegetable garden want to have, they begin planning what they’ll plant and what they need to do to ensure a successful garden.

Adopt a Growth Mindset for a Better Life

A “growth mindset” accepts that our intelligence and talents can develop over time, and a person with that mindset understands that intelligence and talents can improve through effort and learning.

Drug Use, Family History Can Lead to Heart Disease in Younger Adults

Abstaining from drug abuse and an early diagnosis of familial hypercholesterolemia (high cholesterol) can help prevent heart disease.

Recent Stories


Twelve Full-Time TTUHSC Researchers Named to Latest World’s Top 2% of Scientists Rankings

Last fall, Stanford University/Elsevier’s sixth edition of the World’s Top 2% of Scientists List was released and included 12 full-time and three part-time researchers from TTUHSC.


Current Guidelines Advise Monitoring, Vigilance for Avian Flu

Monitoring the severity of infections of cattle and humans with flu H5N1 can be complex, with several factors at play.


TTUHSC SHP Ranks Among the Top in Texas and the Nation

A number of platforms, including U.S. News and World Report, released rankings highlighting the best Health Sciences University programs. The School of Health Professions programs ranked among the top.