Appointments and Awards

May - June 2016

Melinda Corwin, Ph.D., School of Health Professions professor of speech and hearing sciences, has been appointed to the Texas Governor’s Commission for Women. This commission was appointed by Governor Greg Abbott to women who specialize in outreach, education, research and referral services for the Texas community.


Michelle Hunter, director of outreach at the School of Nursing Larry Combest Community Health and Wellness Center, was recognized at the 2016 Girl Scouts of Texas Oklahoma Plains Women of Distinction program with the Connect Award. The award honors a woman who demonstrates exceptional leadership in connecting with others to create solutions in the community and beyond.


Cynthia Jumper, M.D., TTUHSC vice president of health policy and chair of the School of Medicine Department of Internal Medicine was re-elected to serve as a Texas alternate delegate in the American Medical Association (AMA) House of Delegates. The House of Delegates is the principal policy-making body of the AMA. The AMA is an organization of American physicians with the objective “to promote the science and art of medicine and the betterment of public health.”


Laura Hernandez, School of Nursing BSN student, was awarded the National Student Nurses’ Association’s Breakthrough to Nursing award. This award is intended for individuals that promote the nursing profession and recruit students into nursing education.


Priscilla Stansell, MSN, RN-BS, was named Texas Nursing Students’ Association (TNSA) Faculty of the Year. This award is received by faculty members who provide outstanding support to TNSA chapter members. Additionally, the TTUHSC TNSA chapter won Chapter of the Year. 

Story produced by the Office of Communications and Marketing, (806) 743-2143.