School of Pharmacy student organization earns top project award

The group won the ASHP's Outstanding Professional Development Project Award.

Texas Tech Student Society of Health-System Pharmacists

A project prepared by members of the Texas Tech Student Society of Health-System Pharmacists student organization, also known as TTSSHP or Double T, won the Outstanding Professional Development Project Award Dec. 4 at the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) Midyear Clinical Meeting and Student Society Showcase in Las Vegas.

The award winning project, titled, “The Future Starts with Us: Promoting and Growing Advocacy at a Student Level,” was enacted by the 2015-2016 TTSSHP officer team. The project consisted of two law and advocacy sessions that sought to expose pharmacy students to legislative changes and current events that directly affect pharmacy practice. 

The project’s first session was conducted during the fall semester and was presented by former School of Pharmacy faculty member Shane Greene, Pharm.D., who is currently serving as president for the Texas Society of Health-System Pharmacists (TSHP). Greene relayed to students the ways in which they can become actively involved in advocate positions at the local, state and national levels.

The second session was hosted in the spring semester and featured guest speaker Brad Shields, a TSHP lobbyist. Shields’ presentation provided an update to students regarding laws related to health care issues and highlighted new laws that are being considered and how they could impact the future of health care.

Texas Tech Student Society of Health-System Pharmacists“The officer team of TTSSHP is very excited and honored to have received this award,” fourth-year (P4) Dallas/Fort Worth student and TTSSHP President Jennifer Hardcopf said. “We look forward to initiating and refining projects that will continue to benefit students of the TTUHSC School of Pharmacy.”

Members of the TTSSHP officer team who attended the awards ceremony with Hardcopf included P3 Hayley Brazeale, TTSSHP’s president-elect; P3 Lindsey Bartos, TTSSHP Lubbock liaison; and faculty advisors Kalin Clifford, Pharm.D., and Jennifer Grelle, Pharm.D.

Several other School of Pharmacy students also participated in events at the ASHP Midyear meeting, including P4s Brandi Dahl and Christina Tran, who competed in the National Clinical Skills contest. In addition five School of Pharmacy students participated in the ASHP Midyear poster presentations. The group included P3 Peia Lee and P4s Lauren Yancy, Sydney Kutter, Yasameen Nazemi and Darshil Dodhiya.

Story produced by the Office of Communications and Marketing, (806) 743-2143.

School of Pharmacy


The School of Pharmacy was established in 1996 and now has campuses in Amarillo, Lubbock, Dallas and Abilene. Since its inception, the school has played a significant role in addressing the state's pharmacist shortage. Today, more than 90 percent of its graduates remain in Texas.

The school requires its students to complete more clinical training hours than any other pharmacy program in the country, making its students some of the most sought after graduates.