TTUHSC Faculty Member Appointed to Texas Statewide Health Coordinating Council

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC) School of Nursing professor Carol Boswell, Ed.D., R.N., is among seven health care leaders in Texas to be appointed to the Statewide Health Coordinating Council by Governor Greg Abbott. The council ensures health care services and facilities are available to all Texans through health planning activities and provides guidance in the development of the Texas State Health Plan, which is submitted to the governor for consideration every even-numbered year.


Boswell is a professor in the School of Nursing at TTUHSC at the Permian Basin where she serves as the co-director of the Center of Excellence in Evidence-Based Practice and is the James A. “Buddy” Davison Charitable Foundation Endowed Chair for Evidence-Based Practice. Boswell’s research interests include health literacy, spirituality, obesity, health care education and studying evidence-based practice development. As both a clinician and educator in West Texas, Boswell has applied her expertise in developing solutions and creating future nurses for the region.


“It is great to have a nursing and West Texas presence on a state committee,” said Sharon Cannon, Ed.D., R.N., regional dean of the School of Nursing. “I know that Dr. Boswell will have a positive impact on health care decisions for the citizens of Texas. TTUHSC School of Nursing at the Permian Basin is proud to have a faculty appointed by the governor to serve in this capacity.”  


Boswell will join a committee of 17 experts from diverse backgrounds in health care, including medicine, dentistry, physical therapy, health communication and many others. Working in interprofessional collaboration, the team seeks to create health care solutions that will benefit Texans everywhere.


“I am proud Dr. Boswell has been selected to serve our state in meeting the health care needs of Texans,” said TTUHSC President Tedd L. Mitchell, M.D. “In her years at TTUHSC School of Nursing, she has demonstrated unwavering commitment to improving the health of people in the Permian Basin and beyond through research and education. I have no doubt her service on the Statewide Health Coordinating Council will reflect well on her advanced knowledge as well as TTUHSC.”


CONTACT:       Hilary Majors,

                          (432) 620-1016 

Story produced by the Office of Communications and Marketing, (806) 743-2143.