DNP Student Awarded Prestigious Public Health Scholarship

The Association of Reproductive Health Professionals has awarded Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC) School of Nursing Doctor of Nursing Practice Student Courtney P. Sherman, MSN, R.N., WHNP-BC, the Gary Stewart Scholarship for Research in Public Health.

The annual Gary Stewart Scholarship for Research in Public Health was created by the Association of Reproductive Health in honor of Gary Stewart, M.D., MPH, a leading international public health educator who was instrumental in promoting the concept that basic health and family planning are fundamental rights for everyone. Stewart was also a long-term member of the Association of Reproductive Health Professionals and a former member of its board of directors.

This award goes to an outstanding public health graduate student who is involved in conducting a significant research project that addresses a pressing current issue in the field of public health, especially as it may pertain to reproductive health.

“We are very proud of Courtney Sherman’s being awarded this scholarship,” said TTUHSC School of Nursing Dean Michael L. Evans, Ph.D., R.N., FAAN. “As a Texas Tech Doctor of Nursing Practice student, she has shown interest in public health, policy and advocacy. The awarding of this scholarship is an indication of her future leadership in this important area of health care.”

Sherman is a women’s health nurse practitioner in Round Rock, Texas. Her research interests include pregnancy and neonatal outcomes in women following bariatric surgery, and she works as a Health Policy Fellow for the Texas Association of Business.

She is an advocate for the nursing profession in her position as Central Texas Region Public Health Champion for The Texas Team, and an advocate for patients through her work as a nurse practitioner. Sherman has worked in medical-surgical, oncology, nephrology and dialysis, women’s health and family planning, military and athletic training. She has degrees from Texas A& M University, The University of Texas at Arlington and The University of Cincinnati.

For more breaking news and experts, follow @ttuhscnews on Twitter.

Story produced by the Office of Communications and Marketing, (806) 743-2143.