Amarillo Medical Students Participate in Match Day

Fifty-five graduating medical students from the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC) at Amarillo participated in the 29th annual national Match Day ceremony this morning at the Amarillo County Club. Students from the School of Medicine simultaneously opened envelopes containing the destination for their three-year residency program. Students, family, friends, faculty and community leaders gathered to learn the destinations of the students, which include medical facilities throughout the United States.

“We would like to congratulate all of the participants and award winners in today’s Match Day ceremonies,” said Richard M. Jordan, M.D., regional dean of the TTUHSC School of Medicine at Amarillo.

Of the students who participated in Match Day, 33 will practice primary care, which includes family practice, internal medicine, OB-GYN, and pediatrics. Twelve students will complete their residencies at TTUHSC in Amarillo and Lubbock.

Awards were handed out to top-performing students in their fields of study. Those awards included the Maverick Club Community Service Award, Research and Scholarship in Surgery, the J. Rush Pierce award, the Dr. Bernie Mittemeyer Outstanding Medical Student Award, the Potter-Randall Medical Alliance Scholarship and the Overall Outstanding Student Award.

For more breaking news and experts, follow @ttuhscnews on Twitter.

Related Stories

Remembering Dr. Tom McGovern

TTUHSC Celebration of Life Service was held March 25th in remembrance of Tom McGovern, Ed.D.

TTUHSC Ranks Fourth Nationally Among Graduate Institutions as a Military Friendly® School

TTUHSC has been named as a Military Friendly® School for 2022-2023. Among graduate schools, TTUHSC ranked fourth in the nation, achieving Gold award status.

TTUHSC Jerry H. Hodge School of Pharmacy Students Celebrate Residency Assignments on Match Day

On March 16, fourth-year TTUHSC Jerry H. Hodge School of Pharmacy students interested in completing a residency after they graduate in May, learned where they would spend the next stage of their training during the Pharmacy Residency Match Day.

Recent Stories


Study Seeks to Improve Pediatric Patient Safety by Addressing Language Barriers

To help address communication hurdles, the Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute (PCORI) has awarded a $438,756 subcontract to Tetyana L. Vasylyeva, M.D., Ph.D., from the TTUHSC School of Medicine.


TTUHSC Physician Elected American Burn Association President

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center Department of Surgery Chair Sharmila Dissanaike, M.D., was elected as the American Burn Association president for 2025.


TTUHSC Names New Regional Dean for the Jerry H. Hodge School of Pharmacy

Krystal Haase, PharmD, has been named regional dean of the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center Jerry H. Hodge School of Pharmacy on the Amarillo campus.