Eighteenth Annual Trauma and Critical Care Symposium

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC) will host the 18th Annual Trauma and Critical Care Symposium from 7:30 a.m. to 4:20 p.m. Nov. 17 at the Academic Classroom Building, 3601Fourth St.

The conference provides the latest advances and updates in trauma and critical care medicine. The focus is on providing tools for a multidisciplinary approach to improvements in everyday patient care activities in trauma and critical care to improve patient care and outcomes.

Presentations and speakers include:

  • “Diagnosis and Management of Severe Sepsis”
    Emanuel Rivers, M.D.
  • “Triage and Transport of Geriatric Trauma Patients”
    Roxie Albrecht, M.D.
  • “Hand Burns – Initial Treatment and Surgical Management”
    Desirae McKee, M.D.
  • “Organ Procurement Organizations – First Person Consent and How it Affects Donations”
    Teresa J. Shafer, R.N.
  • “Inhalation Injuries”
    Ben Hirsch, M.D.
  • “Progressive Mobility”
    Sara Pena, R.N.
  • “Avoiding Complications in the Morbidly Obese Patient”
    David Syn, M.D.

The conference is sponsored by the TTUHSC Department of Surgery, the Office of Continuing Medical Education, UMC Health System and the UMC Harnar Burn Center and Trauma and Surgical Intensive Care Unit. For more information call Myra Jones, TTUHSC Office of Continuing Medical Education, at (806) 743-2928 or email myra.jones@ttuhsc.edu or cme@ttuhsc.edu.

For more breaking news and experts, follow @ttuhscnews on Twitter.

Related Stories

How Does Your Garden Grow?

As spring approaches, some people’s thoughts turn to gardening. Whether it’s a flower garden they desire or a vegetable garden want to have, they begin planning what they’ll plant and what they need to do to ensure a successful garden.

Adopt a Growth Mindset for a Better Life

A “growth mindset” accepts that our intelligence and talents can develop over time, and a person with that mindset understands that intelligence and talents can improve through effort and learning.

Drug Use, Family History Can Lead to Heart Disease in Younger Adults

Abstaining from drug abuse and an early diagnosis of familial hypercholesterolemia (high cholesterol) can help prevent heart disease.

Recent Stories


Twelve Full-Time TTUHSC Researchers Named to Latest World’s Top 2% of Scientists Rankings

Last fall, Stanford University/Elsevier’s sixth edition of the World’s Top 2% of Scientists List was released and included 12 full-time and three part-time researchers from TTUHSC.


Current Guidelines Advise Monitoring, Vigilance for Avian Flu

Monitoring the severity of infections of cattle and humans with flu H5N1 can be complex, with several factors at play.


TTUHSC SHP Ranks Among the Top in Texas and the Nation

A number of platforms, including U.S. News and World Report, released rankings highlighting the best Health Sciences University programs. The School of Health Professions programs ranked among the top.