Varma Appointed to State Committee

Gov. Rick Perry appointed Surendra K. Varma, M.D., Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center University (TTUHSC) distinguished professor and vice chairman of pediatrics, to the Texas Medical Board District Review Committee (DRC).

Steven L. Berk, M.D., TTUHSC executive vice president and provost and School of Medicine dean, said Varma is an outstanding leader in the TTUHSC community and in his field.

“This is a tremendous state recognition for a physician who has been an invaluable faculty member, clinician, role model and tireless worker for the School of Medicine,” Berk said.

Varma, who also serves as associate dean of the Office of Graduate Medical Education and Resident Affairs and the Ted Hartman Endowed Chair of Medical Education, was appointed by the governor to serve a six-year term.

The committees are composed of M.D.s, D.O.s and public members who attend hearings to consider complaints against persons licensed by the Texas Medical Board and to propose disciplinary actions.

After appropriate orientation and training by the board and the disciplinary process review committee, DRC members will be scheduled to participate in informal settlement conferences, probationary panels, mediations, or perform other duties as may be assigned to committees or committee members. The committee member shall make recommendations for each investigative file. Each member may expect to spend approximately 10 to 15 days of panel participation each year.

For more breaking news and experts, follow @ttuhscnews on Twitter.

Related Stories

Remembering Dr. Tom McGovern

TTUHSC Celebration of Life Service was held March 25th in remembrance of Tom McGovern, Ed.D.

TTUHSC Ranks Fourth Nationally Among Graduate Institutions as a Military Friendly® School

TTUHSC has been named as a Military Friendly® School for 2022-2023. Among graduate schools, TTUHSC ranked fourth in the nation, achieving Gold award status.

TTUHSC Jerry H. Hodge School of Pharmacy Students Celebrate Residency Assignments on Match Day

On March 16, fourth-year TTUHSC Jerry H. Hodge School of Pharmacy students interested in completing a residency after they graduate in May, learned where they would spend the next stage of their training during the Pharmacy Residency Match Day.

Recent Stories


Study Seeks to Improve Pediatric Patient Safety by Addressing Language Barriers

To help address communication hurdles, the Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute (PCORI) has awarded a $438,756 subcontract to Tetyana L. Vasylyeva, M.D., Ph.D., from the TTUHSC School of Medicine.


TTUHSC Physician Elected American Burn Association President

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center Department of Surgery Chair Sharmila Dissanaike, M.D., was elected as the American Burn Association president for 2025.


TTUHSC Names New Regional Dean for the Jerry H. Hodge School of Pharmacy

Krystal Haase, PharmD, has been named regional dean of the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center Jerry H. Hodge School of Pharmacy on the Amarillo campus.