School of Nursing Faculty Member Named Academy of Nursing Education Fellow

The Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC) School of Nursing announced that Professor Alyce Ashcraft, Ph.D., R.N., will be inducted as a fellow of the National League for Nursing’s (NLN) Academy of Nursing Education on Sept. 21 at a meeting of fellows in the Academy of Nursing Education in conjunction with NLN’s annual Education Summit.

Ashcraft joins the academy’s 117 fellows representing nursing schools and programs throughout the U.S. Fellowships are awarded by the NLN Board of Governors, the oversight body of the Academy of Nursing Education.

“This award is one of the highest honors in nursing education,” said School of Nursing Dean Michael L. Evans, Ph.D., R.N., FAAN. “Dr. Ashcraft’s innovations in teaching and learning strategies, nursing education and academic leadership set a fine example for others in the field.”

Ashcraft joined TTUHSC in 2001. She is currently the associate dean for research in the in the School of Nursing. Ashcraft’s teaching consistently receives high marks from undergraduate and graduate students. She has been the recipient of several awards including the President’s Excellence in Teaching Award, the Chancellor’s Distinguished Teaching Award, the Outstanding Faculty Award from the TTUHSC Student Senate, as well as the Clinical Teaching Award, Innovation Award and Young Investigator’s Award from the School of Nursing.

The NLN established the Academy of Nursing Education in 2007 to foster excellence in nursing education by recognizing and capitalizing on the wisdom of nurse educators who have made sustained and significant contributions to nursing education. Fellows provide visionary leadership in nursing education and in the Academy of Nursing Education and support the vision of the NLN to promote standards of excellence in nursing education that will increase the number of graduates from all types of nursing programs. Fellows serve as important role models and resources for new educators and for those who aspire to become nurse educators.

For more breaking news and experts, follow @ttuhscnews on Twitter.

Related Stories

TTUHSC Permian Basin Community Discuss Future of Health Care Workforce

TTUHSC hosted “Building the Basin: a Permian Basin Health Care Workforce Summit” Oct. 4.

Remembering Dr. Tom McGovern

TTUHSC Celebration of Life Service was held March 25th in remembrance of Tom McGovern, Ed.D.

TTUHSC Ranks Fourth Nationally Among Graduate Institutions as a Military Friendly® School

TTUHSC has been named as a Military Friendly® School for 2022-2023. Among graduate schools, TTUHSC ranked fourth in the nation, achieving Gold award status.

Recent Stories

TTUHSC Permian Basin Community Discuss Future of Health Care Workforce

TTUHSC hosted “Building the Basin: a Permian Basin Health Care Workforce Summit” Oct. 4.


TTUHSC Receives CPRIT Grant to Begin New Outreach Effort

CPRIT recently awarded a $1 million prevention grant to Rakhshanda Rahman, M.D., Rebeccah Baucom, M.D., and John Kidwell, M.D., from the TTUHSC School of Medicine.


Startups Begin Here! Four Startups Awarded $50,000 from TTUHSC President

The Innovation Hub at Research Park today (September 26, 2022) announced the winners of its annual Presidents' Innovative Startup Awards. The award recognizes startups that have a high potential for growth and an economic impact in West Texas.