TTUHSC Psychiatry Team Honored as Texans Caring for Texans

People standing on stage at the Texans Caring for Texans Awards 2023

Texans Caring for Texans Awards 2023

Each year state agencies from the upper 26 counties in the Texas Panhandle are invited to select an employee or team of employees to receive a Texans Caring for Texans award. The Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC) School of Medicine honored the four psychiatrists from the TTUHSC Department of Psychiatry and Texas Tech Physicians Psychiatry in Amarillo for the honor. Amy Stark, M.D., accepted on behalf of Michael Jenkins, M.D., Raja Kiani, M.D. and Stacia Lusby, M.D. 

“They work incredibly hard to meet the challenge of providing the best mental health care in this era of a severe national mental health provider shortage,” Richard Jordan, M.D., TTUHSC School of Medicine professor, said in his nomination. “They are master teachers who have inspired 16 percent of our medical students to choose psychiatry for their specialty– an almost unheard-of high percentage.”

The 2023 Texans Caring for Texans recipients were recognized Aug. 3 in a ceremony at West Texas A&M University in Canyon.  

Close up of award for Texans Caring for Texans honorees

Recipients were recognized Aug. 3 at West Texas A&M University in Canyon.

Other state agencies recognized included: Amarillo College, Clarendon College, Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center, Texas Department of Agriculture, Texas Department of Criminal Justice, Texas Department of Family and Protective Services, Texas Department of Public Safety, Texas Department of State Health Services, Texas Department of Transportation, Texas Health and Human Services Commission and West Texas A&M University.

The award program, created in 1996 by former State Representative David Swinford, recognizes these state employees for the effort they put forth to positively impact their communities.

Related Stories

Campus Life

TTUHSC School of Nursing Student Accepted Into Navy Nurse Candidate Program

TTUHSC) hosted a swear-in ceremony for TTUHSC School of Nursing student Gwen Padgett Thursday, Jan. 18.

Campus Life

Remembering Darlene Norton, Professor Emerita

Darlene Norton, Professor Emerita, educator, leader, community health worker, nurse practitioner, mentor and patient advocate, passed away Jan. 13, 2024 in Albuquerque, N.M.

Campus Life

Faculty Women's Club Celebrates 50 Years

The FWC of the TTUHSC School of Medicine will hold a celebration dinner in honor of 50 years as an organization on February 7 at Skyviews restaurant in Lubbock.

Recent Stories


Twelve Full-Time TTUHSC Researchers Named to Latest World’s Top 2% of Scientists Rankings

Last fall, Stanford University/Elsevier’s sixth edition of the World’s Top 2% of Scientists List was released and included 12 full-time and three part-time researchers from TTUHSC.


Current Guidelines Advise Monitoring, Vigilance for Avian Flu

Monitoring the severity of infections of cattle and humans with flu H5N1 can be complex, with several factors at play.


TTUHSC SHP Ranks Among the Top in Texas and the Nation

A number of platforms, including U.S. News and World Report, released rankings highlighting the best Health Sciences University programs. The School of Health Professions programs ranked among the top.