Startups Begin Here! Four Startups Awarded $50,000 from TTUHSC President

The Presidents’ Innovative Startup Awards recognizes early-stage companies that are exemplifying innovation and commercialization.

Texas Tech University Innovation Hub at Research Park

Texas Tech University Innovation Hub at Research Park

The Innovation Hub at Research Park today (September 26, 2022) announced the winners of its annual Presidents' Innovative Startup Awards. The award recognizes startups that have a high potential for growth and an economic impact in West Texas.

“The quality of applicants from our university made the selection challenging,” said TTUHSC President Lori Rice-Spearman, Ph.D. “I am proud of the entrepreneurial work represented and honored to award these startups with funding to move their innovative ideas forward. Their initiatives and approaches represent our university’s vision to transform health care through innovation and collaboration.”

The President of Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center awarded four startups a total of $50,000. The 2022 Presidents’ Innovative Startup Awardees and their startups are:


TTUHSC President's Awards

NeoPurpose Therapeutics | $25,000 award

A biotech startup focused on the development of novel anti-cancer therapies as well as platform technology for anti-cancer drug discovery screening and testing.

Founding members include TTUHSC faculty Dr. Sanjay K. Srivastava and TTUHSC graduate student Shreyas Gaikwad


Better Bleeding Control | $15,000 award

Better Bleeding Control is developing a realistic, wearable training device that provides real-time, performative feedback on bleeding control techniques that can reduce the cost of hemorrhage control training, better training results in better outcomes.

Founding members include TTUHSC faculty Dr. Brittany Bankhead and TTUHSC medical student Julie Chugh


Cardio Intelligent Systems, LLC | $5,000 award

Cardio Intelligent Systems is a TTU-TTUHSC partnership that develops software applications to predict the postoperative risk and treatment outcomes of cardiac surgeries for heart failure patients.

Founders: TTUHSC Faculty Dr. Nandini Nair and TTU Faculty Dr. Dongping Du


Advanced Codex Solutions, LLC | $5,000 award

A non-invasive, low cost, and mobile diagnostic tool for the early detection of both melanoma and skin ulcers.

Founders: TTUHSC Faculty Dr. Courtney Queen, Dr. George Zouridakis & Dr. Tarun Wadhawan

Related Stories


Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Research Grants Fund Eight New TTUHSC Initiatives

Eight teams within the TTUHSC community were chosen as recipients of research grants offered through the Office of DEI, in collaboration with the Office of Research and the Office of the Provost.


Kang Receives CPRIT Funding to Support West Texas Pharmacology Core

CPRIT recently awarded a five-year, $3.37 million grant to Min Kang, Pharm.D. The grant will support the West Texas Pharmacology Core laboratory at TTUHSC.


Collaborative Analysis Finds No Link Between COVID-19 Vaccines, Guillain Barre Syndrome

The collaborative team's study, “No significant increase in Guillain-Barré syndrome after COVID-19 vaccination in adults: A vaccine adverse event reporting system study,” was published in August 2022 by the journal Vaccine.

Recent Stories


More Than a Shave and a Haircut

Students from TTUHSC have formed the Barbershop Blood Pressure Group. The students currently make periodic visits to about 10 Lubbock barber shops to provide free blood pressure checks and general health education.


Raising Awareness for Persons with Disabilities

Living with a disability has many effects on a person’s life, both positive and negative. Overcoming obstacles, achieving goals or dreams, and living a fulfilling life are all things that anyone can relate to.


Pharmacy Professor Tackling Alzheimer’s

Kalin Clifford, PharmD, stays optimistic about the future of diagnosis and treatment options for Alzheimer’s. By serving as a coach for BvB Dallas, Clifford assisted a fundraiser for awareness and research.