TTUHSC to Host Virtual 2021 Endowed Lecture Series

School of health professions student at ttuhsc

The Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC) School of Health Professions Office of Research and Innovation is hosting its 2021 Endowed Lecture Series. The event seeks to cultivate a culture of creativity and discovery by exploring lecture topics from leading health care scholars and showcasing past research from the School of Health Professions.

Featured speakers include Chad Cook, P.T., Ph.D., Sharon Bakalash, M.D., Ph.D., and Susan McBride, Ph.D., RN-BC.

Cook is a professor at Duke University and program director of the Doctor of Physical Therapy division for the Duke Clinical Research Institute. He is a clinical researcher, physical therapist and profession advocate with a long-term history of clinical care excellence and service and 20 years of academic experience. Bakalash is a biotechnology entrepreneur and surgeon with more than two decades of leadership experience in the ophthalmology field. She also is CEO of TissueGen, a company seeking to develop next-generation technologies for advanced drug delivery, nerve regeneration and tissue engineering. McBride is a TTUHSC professor, nursing informaticist and director for the TTUHSC School of Nursing Graduate Informatics Program. Her research focuses upon developing methods to implement, evaluate and utilize health information technology to improve patient safety, quality and population health. 

Other scheduled speakers include Jeffrey Hoch, Ph.D., professor at the University of California, Davis Health, who will speak about health care economics; Paul Egan, Ph.D., assistant professor for the Texas Tech University College of Engineering who directs the Medicine, Mechanics and Manufacturing Design Lab at Texas Tech University; Toby Brooks, Ph.D., associate professor and director for the TTUHSC Master of Athletic Training Program; and Xia Li, Ph.D., Scientific Medical Director of Genetics/Genomics Division at Sonora Quest Laboratories and associate professor of the Pathology Department at the University of Arizona.
The series will take place on Zoom on March 4 and 5, with Tech Talks from noon to 2:30 p.m. each day and poster showcases from 2 p.m. to 3:30 p.m. each day. On March 5 there will be a doctoral seminar from 3 p.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Those wishing to virtually attend the 2021 Endowed Lecture Series should register at Zoom links will be emailed to registrants on March 1. Those who register also will be able to access the links through the registration site prior to the event. 

For more information, email Carleigh Smith (

Related Stories

Remembering Dr. Tom McGovern

TTUHSC Celebration of Life Service was held March 25th in remembrance of Tom McGovern, Ed.D.

TTUHSC Ranks Fourth Nationally Among Graduate Institutions as a Military Friendly® School

TTUHSC has been named as a Military Friendly® School for 2022-2023. Among graduate schools, TTUHSC ranked fourth in the nation, achieving Gold award status.

TTUHSC Jerry H. Hodge School of Pharmacy Students Celebrate Residency Assignments on Match Day

On March 16, fourth-year TTUHSC Jerry H. Hodge School of Pharmacy students interested in completing a residency after they graduate in May, learned where they would spend the next stage of their training during the Pharmacy Residency Match Day.

Recent Stories


How Social Media is Impacting Healthcare

Moumita Choudhury Au.D., CCC-A, spoke about the present and future of social media’s impact on healthcare in general and on hearing healthcare specifically.


TTUHSC’s Cornwall Elected Fellow by American Association for the Advancement of Science

Gail Cornwall, Ph.D., professor in the Department of Cell Biology and Biochemistry at the TTUHSC, has been named a member of the American Association for the Advancement of Science Fellowship Class of 2022.


Study Seeks to Improve Pediatric Patient Safety by Addressing Language Barriers

To help address communication hurdles, the Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute (PCORI) has awarded a $438,756 subcontract to Tetyana L. Vasylyeva, M.D., Ph.D., from the TTUHSC School of Medicine.