Faculty Honored at State of the University & Faculty Award Convocation

Lori Rice-Spearman

Lori Rice-Spearman virtually presented the State of the University & Faculty Awards Convocation.

During a virtual presentation of the State of the University & Faculty Award Convocation, Lori Rice-Spearman, Ph.D., president of Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC), reflected on an unprecedented year in TTUHSC's history.

Rice-Spearman highlighted examples of innovation and collaboration across the TTUHSC enterprise to serve each of its campus communities in response to the COVID-19 pandemic. Examples included adjusting coursework to allow students to continue learning, providing and manufacturing needed clinical supplies, pivoting traditionally in-person events to virtual formats and adapting to telemedicine technologies to minimize disruptions to patient care.

After Rice-Spearman closed her message, faculty members and teams were recognized for excellence in teaching, research, teamwork and more. Award recipients are listed below.


President's Award for Interprofessional Teamwork

Todd Bell, M.D.

Eric J. MacLaughlin, Pharm.D., FASHP, FCCP, BCPS

Jill Frost, Pharm.D.

Maegan M. Whitworth, Pharm.D., BCPS, BCCCP

Evelyn Sbar, M.D., FAAFP, AQH

Mikala Conatser, Pharm.D.

Ulrich Bickel, M.D.


President's Early Career Investigator Award

Devin B. Lowe, Ph.D.


President’s Excellence in Teaching Award

Anna Kochanowska-Karamyan, Ph.D., MPharm


President’s Excellence in Research Award

C. Patrick Reynolds, M.D., Ph.D.


President’s Outstanding Clinician Award

Ronald L. Cook, D.O., MBA, FAAFP


President’s Excellence in Community Engagement Award

Lisa A. Campbell, DNP, RN, PHNA-BC, FAAN


President's Team Teaching Award

Brandt Schneider, Ph.D.

Keith N. Bishop, Ph.D.

Gurvinder Kaur, Ph.D., M.S.

Beverly S. Chilton, Ph.D.

Greg Brower, D.V.M., Ph.D.

Bernell K. Dalley, Ph.D.

Jannette Dufour, Ph.D.

Toni Denison, M.S.

Anthony Hewetson, M.S.

Chip Shaw, Ed.D.

Simon Williams, Ph.D.


University Distinguished Faculty Award

Victor J Test, M.D., FCCP

Yondell Masten, Ph.D., WHNP-BC, RNC-OB


Chancellor’s Council Distinguished Teaching Award

Susan Calloway, Ph.D.


Chancellor’s Council Distinguished Teaching Award 

Tammy Carter, Ph.D.


Chancellor’s Council Distinguished Research Award 

Volker Neugebauer, Ph.D., M.D.

Related Stories

How Does Your Garden Grow?

As spring approaches, some people’s thoughts turn to gardening. Whether it’s a flower garden they desire or a vegetable garden want to have, they begin planning what they’ll plant and what they need to do to ensure a successful garden.

Adopt a Growth Mindset for a Better Life

A “growth mindset” accepts that our intelligence and talents can develop over time, and a person with that mindset understands that intelligence and talents can improve through effort and learning.

Drug Use, Family History Can Lead to Heart Disease in Younger Adults

Abstaining from drug abuse and an early diagnosis of familial hypercholesterolemia (high cholesterol) can help prevent heart disease.

Recent Stories


TTUHSC’s Castro-Quirino Named to 2023-24 Fellows of HACU’s Leadership Academy/La Academia de Liderazgo

HACU announced Sonya Castro-Quirino, D.Bioethics, TTUHSC vice president of Office of Institutional Compliance, as one of the 50 fellows of HACU’s Leadership Academy/La Academia de Liderazgo.

Campus Life

Ronald L. Cook, DO, MBA, named Texas Family Physician of the Year

Ronald L. Cook, DO, MBA, of Lubbock, Texas, was named the 2023 Texas Family Physician of the Year during TAFP’s Annual Session and Primary Care Summit in Grapevine on Nov. 11.


TTUHSC’s La-Beck to Use NIH Grant to Study Cancer Drug Delivery Via Nanoparticles

Ninh (Irene) La-Beck, Pharm.D., with the TTUHSC Jerry H. Hodge School of Pharmacy, received a five-year, $2.49 million grant to investigate how nanoparticles interact with the immune system and cancer.