TTUHSC Recognizes School of Pharmacy Faculty, Staff

TTUHSC School of PharmacyThe Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center Jerry H. Hodge School of Pharmacy conducted its annual Celebration of Achievement May 8 to recognize faculty and staff who have helped make the 2019-2020 school year a special one for students.

Faculty and staff members were presented with many prestigious awards. However, the event that ordinarily held in person and simulcast between the Abilene, Amarillo, Lubbock and Dallas campuses was hosted completely online. An online program was distributed that was packed full of awards, recognitions and an appreciation video from students.

2020 has proven to individuals across the country that health care workers are invaluable to our society and often make daily sacrifices for the betterment of their communities. The health care workforce in West Texas would not be the resilient, innovative group that it is today without the help of TTUHSC’s School of Pharmacy faculty and staff.


Faculty Awards

P1 Teacher of the Year

Anna Karamyan, Ph.D.

P1 Teaching Team of the Year

Pharmacy Foundations & Compounding Team (Siva Koganti, Ph.D., Fakhrul Ahsan, Ph.D., Sami Nazzal, Ph.D., Anna Karamyan, Ph.D., and Rahul Jayant, Ph.D.)

P2 Teacher of the Year

Prof. Debra Notturno-Strong

P2 Teaching Team of the Year

Basic and Applied Pharmacokinetics Team (Abraham Al-Ahmad, Ph.D., Maegan Whitworth, Pharm.D., Fakhrul Ahsan, Ph.D., Mark Haase, Pharm.D., Siva Koganti, Ph.D., and Sami Nazzal)

P3 Teacher of the Year

Sal Tejani, Pharm.D.

P3 Teaching Team of the Year

Neurosensory/Psychiatric Pharmacotherapy Team (Monica Mathys, Pharm.D., Anna Karamyan, Ph.D., Amie Blaszczyk, Pharm.D., and James Stoll, Ph.D.)

Preceptors of the Year

  • Faculty: Chris Tawwater, Pharm.D., Thomas Parker, Pharm.D., Chelsea Krueger, Pharm.D., and Janie Robles, Pharm.D.
  • Adjunct: Greg Young, Amber Elliot, Pharm.D., Julie Edwards, Pharm.D., Larry Pineda, Pharm.D.


Staff Awards

Excellence in Staff Services

Randall Best and Michal Hodge

Staff Mentors

Randi King, Cat Cox and Amanda Hines


Student Awards

Outstanding Clinicians

Athena Brindle Cannon, Matthew Bigelow, Tarak Patel and Selina Anzaldua

Outstanding Patient Advocates

Lucas Cannon, Thao Nguyen, Gray Chatrath, Bibiana Enriquezand Haley Tierce

Outstanding Service

Quang D. Ta, Kori Adair, George Lee and Selina Anzaldua

Student Role Models

Elise Lawrence, Nikunj Govind, Mahbouba Ahmadi and William Beathard

P1 Go Getters

Terence Woods, Ryan Hardaway and Kate Ball

School of Pharmacy


The School of Pharmacy was established in 1996 and now has campuses in Amarillo, Lubbock, Dallas and Abilene. Since its inception, the school has played a significant role in addressing the state's pharmacist shortage. Today, more than 90 percent of its graduates remain in Texas.

The school requires its students to complete more clinical training hours than any other pharmacy program in the country, making its students some of the most sought after graduates.