TTUHSC Faculty Presented Chancellor’s Council Distinguished Teaching & Research Awards

Chancellor, president, and recipientsDr. Tedd L. Mitchell, chancellor of the Texas Tech University System, and Lori Rice- Spearman, Ph.D., Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC) interim president, presented the 2020 Chancellor’s Council Distinguished Teaching and Research Awards Thursday (Feb. 13).

Recognizing academic excellence, the honors are the most prestigious awards granted to faculty throughout the TTU System. The awards are funded by gifts to the Chancellor’s Council, a giving society that supports the chancellor’s priorities across the TTU System.

“Faculty across the Texas Tech University System provide our students a world-class educational experience,” Mitchell said. “The dedication to excellence and commitment to advancing our institutions is what places each of these award winners among the leading educators and researchers in our university system. It’s a privilege to present each of this year’s recipients with our system’s top faculty honors.”

Award recipients received a $5,000 stipend and an engraved medallion. TTUHSC honorees include:

“Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center is known nationally for our academic excellence because of the outstanding efforts of these awardees. They have each established themselves on a national stage in their respective fields; however, to be recognized among your peers for your efforts and contributions holds a different level of pride and validation,” said Rice-Spearman. “I’m grateful for the generous support from the Chancellor’s Council as a way to recognize and show appreciation to these faculty members for their work.”

Since the honors were established in 2001, 191 faculty have received awards totaling more than $1.1 million.



  • Chancellor's Council Medallians
  • Vadivel Ganapathy, Ph.D., and Chancellor Tedd L. Mitchell
  • Thomas Abbruscato, Ph.D., and Chancellor Tedd L. Mitchell
  • Sherry Sancibrian and Chancellor Tedd L. Mitchell

Texas Tech University System

TTU System

Established in 1996 and headquartered in Lubbock, Texas, the Texas Tech University System is a $2 billion higher education enterprise focused on advancing higher education, health care, research and community outreach. Consisting of four universities – Texas Tech University, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, Angelo State University and Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso – the TTU System collectively has approximately 55,000 students, 17 campuses statewide and internationally, more than 300,000 alumni and an endowment valued at over $1.3 billion.

During the 86th Texas Legislature under the leadership of Chancellor Dr. Tedd L. Mitchell, legislative funding and authority was provided to establish a new Texas Tech University veterinary school in Amarillo and a new dental school at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso. This will be the state’s first veterinary school in more than a century and first dental school in over 50 years. The addition of these two schools makes the Texas Tech University System one of only nine in the nation to offer programs for undergraduate, medical, law, nursing, pharmacy, dental and veterinary education, among other academic areas.