Research/Public Service Funding Announcements

The TTUHSC Office of Research is proud to announce the following new extramural research grant awards to TTUHSC researchers for the months of April 2019. We hope all will join us in congratulating the researchers.

Visit our research news page for details on the grants.


Kumuda Das, Ph.D., School of Medicine – National Heart Lung & Blood Institute/NIH
C. Patrick Reynolds, M.D./Ph.D., School of Medicine – National Institutes of Health
Kendra Rumbaugh, Ph.D., School of Medicine – Destiny Pharma
Barbara Cherry, D.NSc., School of Nursing – The Foundation of the National Student Nurses Association, Inc.
Patti Patterson, M.D., School of Medicine – Health Resources and Services Administration

Related Stories

How Does Your Garden Grow?

As spring approaches, some people’s thoughts turn to gardening. Whether it’s a flower garden they desire or a vegetable garden want to have, they begin planning what they’ll plant and what they need to do to ensure a successful garden.

Adopt a Growth Mindset for a Better Life

A “growth mindset” accepts that our intelligence and talents can develop over time, and a person with that mindset understands that intelligence and talents can improve through effort and learning.

Drug Use, Family History Can Lead to Heart Disease in Younger Adults

Abstaining from drug abuse and an early diagnosis of familial hypercholesterolemia (high cholesterol) can help prevent heart disease.

Recent Stories


The TTUHSC Laura W. Bush Institute for Women’s Health Welcomes Ben Carson as Power of the Purse Keynote Speaker

Retired neurosurgeon and former U.S. Secretary of Housing and Urban Development Ben Carson, M.D., delivered a keynote address at the Power of the Purse luncheon and fundraiser today (April 18).


Filling the Gap: PA Impact on Rural Health Care

Assistant Professor and Director of Clinical Education Elesea Villegas, MPAS, PA-C, spoke about the challenges rural health care currently faces and how PAs are stepping up to better serve the rural patient population.


School of Pharmacy Remembers Contributions of Key Collaborator

Cynthia Nash, Pharm.D., served as an Adjunct Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Practice for the School, and was an instrumental collaborator and key ally in our partnership with the Dallas VA North Texas Health Care System.