Celebrating Fifty Years of Success!


CONTACT:    Suzanna Cisneros, suzanna.cisneros@ttuhsc.edu
                          (806) 743-7605
WHO:             Texas Tech University System Chancellor and Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC) President Tedd L. Mitchell, M.D., and Janet Tornelli-Mitchell, M.D., will host the TTUHSC Fiftieth Anniversary Celebration.
WHERE:         TTUHSC Academic Event Center, 3601 Fourth St.
WHEN:           6 p.m. June 7
EVENT:          In 1969, Gov. Preston Smith had a vision of providing more physicians to the West Texas area. Now 50 years later, TTUHSC will celebrate the milestone along with more than 95 School of Medicine alumni, including these from the first three classes:
Class of 1974
·      Dr. Ed Cazzola of Albuquerque, New Mexico
·      Dr. David Mangold, Lubbock
Class of 1975
·      Dr. Richard Johnston, Irving
·      Dr. Andy Hansen, College Station
·      Dr. Gerry Lawler, Abilene
·      Dr. Charlotte Ann Shanley, Kingsbury
Class of 1976
·      Dr. William Long, Belton
·      Dr. Stephen Walling, Taos, New Mexico
Also present will be Jan Taylor, Former Gov. Smith’s daughter and his grandson Robert Schmid, M.D. At that time professionals and hospitals were scarce: 19 of the counties surrounding Lubbock had no physicians. Today, TTUHSC has graduated more than 28,000 health care professionals. Of those, 24 percent remain in the 108-county service area.
[Editor’s Note: A Media Tool Kit is available at http://fifty.ttuhsc.edu/with historic photos, video and timeline.]

Related Stories

TTUHSC’s Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences Hosts Student Research Week

The Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC) Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences hosted its 34th Annual Student Research Week March 8-11.

TTUHSC Researcher Receives NIH Grant to Study Vulnerabilities in Specific Cancer Types

The National Cancer Institute awarded a five-year, $1.9 million grant to C. Patrick Reynolds, M.D., Ph.D., director for the School of Medicine Cancer Center at TTUHSC.

The Hype Around Artificial Intelligence

Richard Greenhill, DHA, FISQua, FACHE, discusses the hype and reality surrounding AI in healthcare.

Recent Stories


Breastfeeding in a Formula Crisis

TTUHSC Assistant Professor of Pediatrics Christine Garner, Ph.D., R.D., says if your baby's normal brand of formula isn't available, you can swap it out for a different one.


The First Patient: TTUHSC Students Gain Life-long Knowledge From Willed Body Program

The Willed Body Program has served West Texas since 1972 and is the foundation upon which the TTUHSC Institute of Anatomical Sciences is built.


TTUHSC Class of 2022 Honored at Commencement Ceremonies

The Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC) recently hosted traditional commencement ceremonies for its 1,595-member Class of 2022.