$100,000 Awarded to High-Performing Texas Tech Startups

Recipients of the Presidents’ Innovation Award are determined by the presidents of Texas Tech University and the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center.

Texas Tech University has partnered with Market Lubbock Inc. to establish the Presidents’ Innovation Award, an effort supporting entrepreneurs through seed-stage funding and seed grants for startups at the Innovation Hub at Research Park.

This program is designed to give early-stage startups space and critical access to equipment to become revenue-generating companies. The Presidents’ Innovation Award creates new technology jobs and increases the tax base with innovative companies in West Texas.

A committee reviews all the applications to narrow the field, identifying candidates that exemplify innovation and commercialization. Final decisions for the prestigious awards are made by the presidents of Texas Tech University and the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC).

TTUHSC President’s Awards

VxMed Students


VxMED: A company that transforms medical education by creating virtual-reality training experiences for medical students.

CEO Founders – Anthony Betteridge and Nathan Lloyd

$25,000 awarded





Performance Fasteners, LLC: A company that manufactures and markets styling accessories and custom one-off parts for the discriminating automotive, motorcycle and motorsports enthusiast.

CEO Founder – Toby Brooks

$15,000 awarded



Jennifer Phy - PCOS diet

PCOS Diet: A company that developed a novel dietary approach to managing polycystic ovarian syndrome (PCOS) that has resulted in successful weight loss and improved metabolic parameters with no caloric restriction, carb counting, fat counting, portion limitation or exercise.

CEO Founder – Dr. Jennifer Phy

Awarded $5,000 plus an additional $5,000 to develop app

Texas Tech University President’s Awards

NemaLife: A company that developed a platform technology for high throughput drug discovery and toxicology in small animals.

CEO Founder – Siva Vanapalli

$25,000 awarded

BaoNano: A company that will significantly downscale the power circuit profile and enhance the lifetime and functionality of electronic devices.

CEO Founder – Zhaoyang Fan

$15,000 awarded

iNoon: A company with a novel diagnostics method of detecting eye diseases using a smartphone.

CEO Founder – Jo Woon Chong

$10,000 awarded

Find Texas Tech news, experts and story ideas at Texas Tech Today Media Resources or follow us on Twitter.

Texas Tech University System

TTU System

Established in 1996 and headquartered in Lubbock, Texas, the Texas Tech University System is a $2 billion higher education enterprise focused on advancing higher education, health care, research and community outreach. Consisting of four universities – Texas Tech University, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, Angelo State University and Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso – the TTU System collectively has approximately 55,000 students, 17 campuses statewide and internationally, more than 300,000 alumni and an endowment valued at over $1.3 billion.

During the 86th Texas Legislature under the leadership of Chancellor Dr. Tedd L. Mitchell, legislative funding and authority was provided to establish a new Texas Tech University veterinary school in Amarillo and a new dental school at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso. This will be the state’s first veterinary school in more than a century and first dental school in over 50 years. The addition of these two schools makes the Texas Tech University System one of only nine in the nation to offer programs for undergraduate, medical, law, nursing, pharmacy, dental and veterinary education, among other academic areas.