GPPS Students Earn Awards, Travel Scholarships

Six students from the School of Pharmacy’s Graduate Program in Pharmaceutical Sciences recently earned poster awards and travel scholarships.

Three of the honorees work as research assistants for the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences in Amarillo, including Sreedhar Reddy Suthe, who works with Ming-Hai Wang, M.D., Ph.D., and Shyanne Page and Snehal Raut, who work with Abraham Al-Ahmad, Ph.D.

Sreedhar Reddy Suthe


Shyanne Page


Snehal Raut


Suthe’s abstract titled, “RON-Targeted Antibody-Drug Conjugate Therapy Ablates Cancer Stem Cells and Induces Long-Term Tumor Regressions in Preclinical Models of Triple Negative Breast Cancer,” was chosen by the Lone Star Regional Chapter of the Society of Toxicology (LSSOT) review committee for an oral presentation at the LSSOT Annual Fall Meeting: “Mechanisms of Toxicology” that took place Sept. 7 in Austin, Texas. LSSOT selected just nine abstracts from more than 35 submissions.

Suthe also was selected by the American Society for Investigative Pathology (ASIP) to present an abstract-driven short talk based upon the same titled research during the “Focus on Women’s Cancers” session of the 2018 Pathobiology for Investigators, Students, and Academicians (PISA). He will make that presentation Oct. 20-22 during the PISA “Molecular Mechanisms of Disease: Tissue Homeostasis, Immune Responses, and Cancer” conference in Ann Arbor, Michigan.

Page was selected by the ASIP to receive a 2018 ASIP Experimental Pathologist-in-Graduate Training Merit Award. She will receive the honor, which includes a travel stipend, during the ASIP Awards Presentations Oct. 20-22 at the PISA meeting in Ann Arbor. 

Raut was selected to receive a full scholarship to attend the short course titled, “Improving Preclinical Translation of Alzheimer’s Disease Research” Oct. 22-26 at the Jackson Laboratory in Bar Harbor, Maine. The scholarship will cover her registration fee, food and lodging for the training.

Sharavan Ramachandran


Kumari “Iti” Kaushik


Nehal Gupta


In addition, Nehal Gupta, Kumari “Iti” Kaushik and Sharavan Ramachandran from the Department of Immunotherapeutics and Biotechnology were selected to receive a Young Investigator Travel Fellowship Award to attend the 2018 Symposia on Cancer Research titled, “The Leading Edge of Cancer Research,” Oct. 4-5 at the University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center in Houston. Gupta, Kaushik and Ramachandran work with Sanjay Srivastava, Ph.D., in Amarillo. TTUHSC Graduate Program in Pharmaceutical Sciences

TTUHSC at Amarillo


Students at TTUHSC at Amarillo receive a comprehensive, practical education spanning a broad range of health issues.

Home to the schools of pharmacy, medicine, health professions, as well as the Laura W. Bush Institute for Women's Health, TTUHSC at Amarillo prepares students for a health care career through hands-on training in clinical and research settings.

Connect with TTUHSC at Amarillo on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.