Medical Students Honored at VA Ceremony

Veterans Affairs CeremonyThe Amarillo VA Healthcare System recognized four medical students from the TTUHSC campus in Amarillo March 30 as part of Women’s History Month.

Fourth-year medical student Lindsay Porter and third-year medical students Melanie Garcia, Rebecca Brady and Erika Anderson were honored with an “I Care” pin to wear on their white coats from the Department of Veterans Affairs. Following their graduation from medical school, each of these students plans to serve their country and honor our veterans who have served.

After she matched into the Family Medicine residency program at the TTUHSC in Amarillo in March, Porter plans to continue her work with the Amarillo VA. Garcia and Brady plan to follow their family tradition of military service by joining the United States Navy; Anderson plans to join the United States Air Force. TTUHSC and the Amarillo campus thank each of these students for their commitment to serve our country and care for our veterans.


Image Gallery



Related Stories

How Does Your Garden Grow?

As spring approaches, some people’s thoughts turn to gardening. Whether it’s a flower garden they desire or a vegetable garden want to have, they begin planning what they’ll plant and what they need to do to ensure a successful garden.

Adopt a Growth Mindset for a Better Life

A “growth mindset” accepts that our intelligence and talents can develop over time, and a person with that mindset understands that intelligence and talents can improve through effort and learning.

Drug Use, Family History Can Lead to Heart Disease in Younger Adults

Abstaining from drug abuse and an early diagnosis of familial hypercholesterolemia (high cholesterol) can help prevent heart disease.

Recent Stories


Twelve Full-Time TTUHSC Researchers Named to Latest World’s Top 2% of Scientists Rankings

Last fall, Stanford University/Elsevier’s sixth edition of the World’s Top 2% of Scientists List was released and included 12 full-time and three part-time researchers from TTUHSC.


Current Guidelines Advise Monitoring, Vigilance for Avian Flu

Monitoring the severity of infections of cattle and humans with flu H5N1 can be complex, with several factors at play.


TTUHSC SHP Ranks Among the Top in Texas and the Nation

A number of platforms, including U.S. News and World Report, released rankings highlighting the best Health Sciences University programs. The School of Health Professions programs ranked among the top.