Amarillo Pharmacy Students Raise Money for The Bridge

Pharmacy students present a check to The BridgeAs each new academic year gets underway, the School of Pharmacy’s Office of Professional Affairs hosts a leadership retreat that brings together the student leaders of all pharmacy classes, campuses and organizations.

At the 2017-2018 retreat in August, leaders from the four School of Pharmacy campuses—Amarillo, Abilene, Lubbock and Dallas—were challenged to set up campus-wide goals to unite students and organizations on their respective campus.

One of the goals set by Amarillo student leaders was to raise money for a local nonprofit. That goal was realized April 24 when the group presented a check for $1,833.87 to The Bridge, a children’s advocacy organization through which law enforcement, child protective services, prosecutors and the medical and mental health communities work together to advocate for and assist children impacted by child abuse.

Fourth-year pharmacy student Rachel Jackson, vice president for the School of Pharmacy’s Class of 2018 and Amarillo Student Council secretary, said The Bridge was chosen at the council’s October meeting.

“After The Bridge was selected, 11 School of Pharmacy student organizations held at least one fundraiser to benefit The Bridge, and some organizations partnered together to raise their contribution,” Jackson said.

According to Jackson, the student organizations who made The Bridge donation possible included the American Pharmacists Association-Academy of Student Pharmacists, the Christian Pharmacists Fellowship International, the Double T Society of Health-System Pharmacists, the Foundation for International Medical Relief of Children, the Kappa Psi Delta Pi chapter, the National Community Pharmacists Association, Phi Delta Chi, Phi Lambda Sigma, the Student Society of Clinical Pharmacists, the Student National Pharmaceutical Association and the Texas Tech Pediatric Pharmacy Advocacy Group.

“The Kappa Psi, Delta Pi chapter was the top contributor this year, and the Amarillo Student Council thanks them for their hard work and dedication to successfully completing this campus goal,” Jackson added. “However, this donation would not have been possible without the support of many people, including the president, treasurer and fundraising chair of each of the 11 student organizations.”

Related Stories

Remembering Dr. Tom McGovern

TTUHSC Celebration of Life Service was held March 25th in remembrance of Tom McGovern, Ed.D.

TTUHSC Ranks Fourth Nationally Among Graduate Institutions as a Military Friendly® School

TTUHSC has been named as a Military Friendly® School for 2022-2023. Among graduate schools, TTUHSC ranked fourth in the nation, achieving Gold award status.

TTUHSC Jerry H. Hodge School of Pharmacy Students Celebrate Residency Assignments on Match Day

On March 16, fourth-year TTUHSC Jerry H. Hodge School of Pharmacy students interested in completing a residency after they graduate in May, learned where they would spend the next stage of their training during the Pharmacy Residency Match Day.

Recent Stories


TTUHSC’s Cornwall Elected Fellow by American Association for the Advancement of Science

Gail Cornwall, Ph.D., professor in the Department of Cell Biology and Biochemistry at the TTUHSC, has been named a member of the American Association for the Advancement of Science Fellowship Class of 2022.


Study Seeks to Improve Pediatric Patient Safety by Addressing Language Barriers

To help address communication hurdles, the Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute (PCORI) has awarded a $438,756 subcontract to Tetyana L. Vasylyeva, M.D., Ph.D., from the TTUHSC School of Medicine.


TTUHSC Physician Elected American Burn Association President

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center Department of Surgery Chair Sharmila Dissanaike, M.D., was elected as the American Burn Association president for 2025.