Making a Difference: The Free Clinic Extraordinary Volunteers

austin meyers

“There are a huge number of people in our community, within a 15 minute drive of my house, that do actually live these lives of quiet desperation. Their resources are minimal. They often have an awful health status. Beyond emergency departments, their access to care is non-existent, and in many cases they can't see a way out. If not for The Free Clinic, I would never have known that reality. Once you have seen and understood their lives, it is hard to just ignore it. There is a small group of dedicated physicians at the clinic that are my role models.”


Austin Meyer, Ph.D., is a fourth-year medical student, who was born in Baton Rouge, LA and raised in Austin, Texas. He recently matched into a combined residency program in internal medicine and pediatrics at The Ohio State University/Nationwide Children's Hospital, which he will begin in June. Meyer volunteered for five years at The Free Clinic and also served on their 2013-2014 leadership team.


Related Stories

How Does Your Garden Grow?

As spring approaches, some people’s thoughts turn to gardening. Whether it’s a flower garden they desire or a vegetable garden want to have, they begin planning what they’ll plant and what they need to do to ensure a successful garden.

Adopt a Growth Mindset for a Better Life

A “growth mindset” accepts that our intelligence and talents can develop over time, and a person with that mindset understands that intelligence and talents can improve through effort and learning.

Drug Use, Family History Can Lead to Heart Disease in Younger Adults

Abstaining from drug abuse and an early diagnosis of familial hypercholesterolemia (high cholesterol) can help prevent heart disease.

Recent Stories


The TTUHSC Laura W. Bush Institute for Women’s Health Welcomes Ben Carson as Power of the Purse Keynote Speaker

Retired neurosurgeon and former U.S. Secretary of Housing and Urban Development Ben Carson, M.D., delivered a keynote address at the Power of the Purse luncheon and fundraiser today (April 18).


Filling the Gap: PA Impact on Rural Health Care

Assistant Professor and Director of Clinical Education Elesea Villegas, MPAS, PA-C, spoke about the challenges rural health care currently faces and how PAs are stepping up to better serve the rural patient population.


School of Pharmacy Remembers Contributions of Key Collaborator

Cynthia Nash, Pharm.D., served as an Adjunct Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Practice for the School, and was an instrumental collaborator and key ally in our partnership with the Dallas VA North Texas Health Care System.