Pharmacy names 2016-2017 Preceptors of the Year

David Simmons, R.Ph.

David Simmons, R.Ph.

The School of Pharmacy’s Office of Experiential Programs places TTUHSC pharmacy students in actual practice settings in or near each of the School of Pharmacy’s campus communities in Amarillo, Abilene, Lubbock and Dallas/Fort Worth. The technology-driven program provides these future practitioners with opportunities to interact with real patients and other health care professionals and has earned high marks from both students and preceptors.

Each year, the Office of Experiential Programs and the School of Pharmacy’s third- and fourth-year students honor one faculty member and one adjunct faculty member from each campus community with a Preceptor of the Year Award.

Shawna King, Pharm.D.

Shawna King, Pharm.D.

For the 2016-2017 academic year, David Simmons, R.Ph., was selected as the Amarillo Faculty Preceptor of the Year winner and Shawna King, Pharm.D., from Northwest Texas Healthcare System was selected the Amarillo Adjunct Faculty Preceptor of the Year. 

Winners from the other School of Pharmacy campuses include Jennifer Grelle, Pharm.D. (Abilene faculty); Levi Campbell, Pharm.D. (Dallas faculty); Randy Ball, R.Ph. (Dallas adjunct faculty); and Justin Hesse, Pharm.D. in Lubbock.

Story produced by the Office of Communications and Marketing, (806) 743-2143.

School of Pharmacy


The School of Pharmacy was established in 1996 and now has campuses in Amarillo, Lubbock, Dallas and Abilene. Since its inception, the school has played a significant role in addressing the state's pharmacist shortage. Today, more than 90 percent of its graduates remain in Texas.

The school requires its students to complete more clinical training hours than any other pharmacy program in the country, making its students some of the most sought after graduates.