TTUHSC Abilene Graduate Receives TRHA Award

John DodgeJohn Dodge, a December graduate of the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center in Abilene, is the recipient of the 2016 Texas Rural Health Association (TRHA) Rural Health Student Award. He received the award March 29 at the TRHA Conference this in Austin.

According to the TRHA website, the organization’s Rural Health Student Award recognizes an individual who has made a significant effort to improve rural health care in Texas through their studies and activities during their academic career. Students may be nominated if they fit these award criteria, and nominees must be working toward a career that emphasizes rural health care and be actively engaged in coursework, research or activities that are improving the overall health of rural populations.

Dodge is a member of the inaugural class accepted into the TTUHSC Master of Public Health program in Abilene, which started in August 2015. Prior to completing his MPH, Dodge graduated from Hardin-Simmons University with a degree in biology and a minor in mathematics. 

Related Stories

How Does Your Garden Grow?

As spring approaches, some people’s thoughts turn to gardening. Whether it’s a flower garden they desire or a vegetable garden want to have, they begin planning what they’ll plant and what they need to do to ensure a successful garden.

Adopt a Growth Mindset for a Better Life

A “growth mindset” accepts that our intelligence and talents can develop over time, and a person with that mindset understands that intelligence and talents can improve through effort and learning.

Drug Use, Family History Can Lead to Heart Disease in Younger Adults

Abstaining from drug abuse and an early diagnosis of familial hypercholesterolemia (high cholesterol) can help prevent heart disease.

Recent Stories


Twelve Full-Time TTUHSC Researchers Named to Latest World’s Top 2% of Scientists Rankings

Last fall, Stanford University/Elsevier’s sixth edition of the World’s Top 2% of Scientists List was released and included 12 full-time and three part-time researchers from TTUHSC.


Current Guidelines Advise Monitoring, Vigilance for Avian Flu

Monitoring the severity of infections of cattle and humans with flu H5N1 can be complex, with several factors at play.


TTUHSC SHP Ranks Among the Top in Texas and the Nation

A number of platforms, including U.S. News and World Report, released rankings highlighting the best Health Sciences University programs. The School of Health Professions programs ranked among the top.