TTUHSC School of Medicine to Honor Surgery Chair

WHAT: The Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC) School of Medicine will host a Leadership Transition reception to celebrate John A. Griswold, M.D., and Sharmila Dissanaike, M.D.


WHEN: 4 p.m. Monday (February 29)


WHERE: TTUHSC Academic Classroom Building first floor lobby, 3601 4th St.


EVENT: Griswold has served as chairman of the Department of Surgery for more than 19 years. Along with his leadership in the department, he also served as the medical director of the Level 1 Trauma Center (first to be verified in Texas) 200-2014, and was medical director of the Timothy J. Harnar Regional Burn Center 1992-present. Recently, the trauma center was named the John A. Griswold Level 1 Trauma Center.

Dissanaike is a professor of surgery and the medical director of the John A. Griswold Level 1 Trauma Center. She also is the current president of the North Texas Chapter of the American College of Surgeons. She has a strong interest in promoting clinical research and serves as the School of Medicine representative to the TTUHSC Clinical Research Institute, faculty in the Center for Translational Neuroscience as well as the director of the Burn Center for Research Excellence.


Related Stories

Remembering Dr. Tom McGovern

TTUHSC Celebration of Life Service was held March 25th in remembrance of Tom McGovern, Ed.D.

TTUHSC Ranks Fourth Nationally Among Graduate Institutions as a Military Friendly® School

TTUHSC has been named as a Military Friendly® School for 2022-2023. Among graduate schools, TTUHSC ranked fourth in the nation, achieving Gold award status.

TTUHSC Jerry H. Hodge School of Pharmacy Students Celebrate Residency Assignments on Match Day

On March 16, fourth-year TTUHSC Jerry H. Hodge School of Pharmacy students interested in completing a residency after they graduate in May, learned where they would spend the next stage of their training during the Pharmacy Residency Match Day.

Recent Stories


TTUHSC Permian Basin Community Discuss Future of Health Care Workforce

TTUHSC hosted “Building the Basin: a Permian Basin Health Care Workforce Summit” Oct. 4.


TTUHSC Receives CPRIT Grant to Begin New Outreach Effort

CPRIT recently awarded a $1 million prevention grant to Rakhshanda Rahman, M.D., Rebeccah Baucom, M.D., and John Kidwell, M.D., from the TTUHSC School of Medicine.


Startups Begin Here! Four Startups Awarded $50,000 from TTUHSC President

The Innovation Hub at Research Park today (September 26, 2022) announced the winners of its annual Presidents' Innovative Startup Awards. The award recognizes startups that have a high potential for growth and an economic impact in West Texas.