McMahan, Bibb Lead Class of 2016 Graduation

The TTUHSC School of Pharmacy conducted commencement exercises May 15 at the Amarillo Civic Center Auditorium for the 155 students from the Amarillo, Abilene, Dallas/Fort Worth and Lubbock campuses that comprise the Class of 2016.

State Rep. Four Price delivered the commencement address. Mickey L. Long, chairman for the Texas Tech University System Board of Regents, also joined School of Pharmacy staff, faculty, family and friends in honoring the graduates.

Several graduates were honored for their achievements in the classroom and in the clinic, including Danni McMahan, who earned the Class of 2016 Banner Bearer award given to the graduate with the highest four-year grade point average. The Banner Bearer carries the School of Pharmacy banner and leads the class during commencement.

In addition, Teryn Bibb received the Bowl of Hygieia, presented annually to the graduating class member who is deemed to best exemplify the qualities most desirable in a pharmacist: leadership, high ethical standards, dedication and promotion of the pharmacy profession. The Bowl of Hygieia signifies pure and potent medicines and is an internationally recognized symbol for the pharmacy profession.

In ceremonies conducted prior to commencement, the school recognized 16 graduates who earned their MBA from the Texas Tech University Rawls College of Business through the School of Pharmacy’s dual Pharm.D./MBA program. The school also honored the memory of Class of 2016 member Crystal Mattiza, who passed in February, and recognized class members who are U.S. military veterans

The Class of 2016 named Harold Miller, Ph.D., as its Most Influential Professor. Miller is an associate professor for the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences on the Abilene campus.

Other Class of 2016 graduates recognized for their achievements included Gina Nazworth (Wolters Kluwer Excellence in Clinical Communications Award); Eva Coulson and Megan Fenney (School of Pharmacy Geriatrics Award); Cort McGinnis (School of Pharmacy Communications Award); Deep Shah (School of Pharmacy Patient Care Award); Kristin Bohannon (School of Pharmacy Pediatrics Award); Taylor Tran (TEVA USA Outstanding Student Award); Ola Fagbohun (Eli Lilly Achievement Award); Stacy Cox (Mylan Excellence in Pharmacy Award); Thien Hoang (Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database Recognition Award); and Jason Saucedo (U.S. Public Health Service Excellence in Public Health Pharmacy Practice Award).

McMahan, Bibb lead Class of 2016 graduation   McMahan, Bibb lead Class of 2016 graduation  McMahan, Bibb lead Class of 2016 graduation

Related Stories

How Does Your Garden Grow?

As spring approaches, some people’s thoughts turn to gardening. Whether it’s a flower garden they desire or a vegetable garden want to have, they begin planning what they’ll plant and what they need to do to ensure a successful garden.

Adopt a Growth Mindset for a Better Life

A “growth mindset” accepts that our intelligence and talents can develop over time, and a person with that mindset understands that intelligence and talents can improve through effort and learning.

Drug Use, Family History Can Lead to Heart Disease in Younger Adults

Abstaining from drug abuse and an early diagnosis of familial hypercholesterolemia (high cholesterol) can help prevent heart disease.

Recent Stories

Campus Life

TTUHSC to Host Lubbock’s Spring Medication Cleanout™

The TPPC, managed by the TTUHSC Jerry H. Hodge School of Pharmacy, will host Lubbock’s Spring Medication Cleanout™ event from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. April 22 (Saturday) at the Texas Tech Physicians Medical Pavilion.

Campus Life

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center Honors Inaugural Cohort of School of Nursing Traditional BSN Graduates with Lamp Lighting Ceremony

TTUHSC School of Nursing honored its first class of Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN) graduates with a lamp lighting ceremony on Thursday, March 30.


From House Calls to Virtual Visits

Texas Tech Physicians primary and specialty clinics across West Texas have completed more than 160,000 telehealth visits since the start of the pandemic.