Appointments and Awards

AJ Stevens, MBA, BSN, NEA-BC, a student in the School of Nursing Doctor of Nursing Practice program, has been appointed to the Texas Organization of Nursing Executives (TONE) Board of Directors as an At-Large Member. Stevens’ service will begin on September 1, 2015 and will provide innovative nursing leadership in Texas.

Terry Dalton, Chief Analyst, received the Friend of Education award by the Texas Classroom Teacher’s Association (TCTA). This award highlights the extraordinary work Dalton gives to public education in Texas. As a Board of Director for the West Texas Running Club, Dalton has dedicated numerous hours to fitness and running in Lubbock schools, promoting the importance of exercise and health.

Diana Ruiz, DNP, RN-BC, CWOCN, TTUHSC alumna, was awarded one of the Breakthrough Leaders in Nursing awards, presented by the Future of Nursing: Campaign for Action. The initiative is a joint effort by AARP and the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation to support nurses as essential partners in health care. Ruiz was recognized for her pilot program, reducing bedsores and Medicaid costs, based on her DNP Capstone.

Jeannette T Crenshaw, DNP, R.N., LCCE, School of Nursing assistant professor, was elected to serve in the office of chair-elect for the United Sates Breastfeeding Committee (USBC). The position is a three-year succession from chair elect, chair and past chair. Crenshaw currently serves as treasurer for the nonprofit organization, which targets the protection, promotion and support of breastfeeding.

“Enhancing Trifocal Leadership Practices Using Simulation in Pediatric Charge Nurse Orientation Programs” by Teresa J. Clark, DNP, R.N., HCA, May 2015 Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) program graduate, and Patricia Yoder-Wise, R.N., Ed.D., FAAN, were selected as part of the July 2015 publication of “Journal of Continuing Education in Nursing.”

Alyce Ashcraft, Ph.D., R.N., School of Nursing professor and associate dean of research, was inducted as a fellow into the Leadership for Academic Nursing Program (LANP) of the American Association of Colleges of Nursing for the 2015-16 school year.

Related Stories

How Does Your Garden Grow?

As spring approaches, some people’s thoughts turn to gardening. Whether it’s a flower garden they desire or a vegetable garden want to have, they begin planning what they’ll plant and what they need to do to ensure a successful garden.

Adopt a Growth Mindset for a Better Life

A “growth mindset” accepts that our intelligence and talents can develop over time, and a person with that mindset understands that intelligence and talents can improve through effort and learning.

Drug Use, Family History Can Lead to Heart Disease in Younger Adults

Abstaining from drug abuse and an early diagnosis of familial hypercholesterolemia (high cholesterol) can help prevent heart disease.

Recent Stories


Former TTUHSC Dean Receives Emeritus Appointment from Texas Tech University System Board of Regents

The TTU System Board of Regents approved the title of Dean Emeritus for Michael Evans, Ph.D., R.N., FAAN, on Feb. 29, in recognition of his distinguished service to the School of Nursing and TTUHSC.


Rumbaugh Named Fellow by American Academy of Microbiology

Kendra Rumbaugh, Ph.D., a professor in the TTUHSC School of Medicine’s Department of Surgery, was named as one of the American Academy of Microbiology (AAM) 65 new Fellows for 2024.


Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center Names New School of Medicine Dean and Executive Vice President for Clinical Affairs

John C. DeToledo, M.D., has been named the TTUHSC School of Medicine dean and executive vice president for clinical affairs.