Appointments and Awards

Alyce Ashcraft, Ph.D., R.N., CCRN, School of Nursing, was granted fellow status by the National Gerontological Association (NGNA) for her commitment and contributions in the health care of older adults. Ashcraft and four additional fellows will serve as liaisons between the NGNA and health care organizations, advocating for health issues among aging people.

Samuel J. Campbell, M.D., FACS, School of Health Professions, received fellowship certification from the Association of Surgical Education (ASE) Academy of Clerkship Directors. Campbell is one of the six surgical educators who were appointed fellow status, the step prior to master status within the academy. Certification signifies serving as a medical school surgery clerkship director, scholarly activity in surgical education and participation in ASE research and faculty development.

Jason Morton, IT Solution Center, was awarded the American Cancer Society Hero of Hope Award for his dedicated volunteer work to bring awareness to cancer across West Texas. Morton is one of two honorees who were awarded for their courageous battle against cancer and support given to those currently fighting back through dedicated involvement in the community.

Sandra Whisner, Ph.D., M.A., School of Health Professions, received the Distinguished Service Award from the Texas Occupational Therapy Association for her scholarly contributions to the development of occupational therapy. This award is given to those who provide notable growth among the occupational therapy profession or the state association.

Story produced by the Office of Communications and Marketing, (806) 743-2143.