Faculty Members Recognized for Excellence

Faculty members from several schools were honored for excellence.

Faculty members from several schools were honored for excellence.

President Tedd L. Mitchell, M.D., recently presented the 2013 State of the University Address and recognized faculty members for their achievements during the annual Presidential Award Ceremony.

Faculty honored for excellence in education, research and patient care this year were:

President’s Excellence in Teaching Award

  • Steven Zupancic, Ph.D.
  • Paul Casner, M.D., Ph.D.
  • Min Kang, Pharm.D.

President’s Young Investigator Award

  • Lan Guan, M.D., Ph.D.

President’s Outstanding Clinician Award

  • Michael Phy, D.O., M.S.
  • Renee Bogschutz, Ph.D., CCC-SLP

President’s Excellence in Community Engagement Award

  • Betsy Jones, Ed.D.
  • President’s Outstanding Professor Award

    • Kenneth Nugent, M.D.

    President’s Award for Excellence in Interprofessional Teamwork 2013

    • Patti Patterson, M.D.
    • Laura Opton, R.N., MSN, CNE
    • Amy Moore, DNP, R.N., FNP-C

    President’s Award for Excellence in Interprofessional Teamwork 2012

    • Jeanetta Cole, M.D.
    • Brian Irons, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCACP, BCPS, BC-ADM
    • Kathryn Panasci, PT, DPT, CBIS
    • Renee Bogschutz, Ph.D., CCC-SLP
    • Grace Sun, R.N., MSN, FNP-BC

    Congratulations to all of this year’s presidential award recipients.

    Image Gallery

Related Stories

Remembering Dr. Tom McGovern

TTUHSC Celebration of Life Service was held March 25th in remembrance of Tom McGovern, Ed.D.

TTUHSC Ranks Fourth Nationally Among Graduate Institutions as a Military Friendly® School

TTUHSC has been named as a Military Friendly® School for 2022-2023. Among graduate schools, TTUHSC ranked fourth in the nation, achieving Gold award status.

TTUHSC Jerry H. Hodge School of Pharmacy Students Celebrate Residency Assignments on Match Day

On March 16, fourth-year TTUHSC Jerry H. Hodge School of Pharmacy students interested in completing a residency after they graduate in May, learned where they would spend the next stage of their training during the Pharmacy Residency Match Day.

Recent Stories


TTUHSC Receives CPRIT Grant to Begin New Outreach Effort

CPRIT recently awarded a $1 million prevention grant to Rakhshanda Rahman, M.D., Rebeccah Baucom, M.D., and John Kidwell, M.D., from the TTUHSC School of Medicine.


Startups Begin Here! Four Startups Awarded $50,000 from TTUHSC President

The Innovation Hub at Research Park today (September 26, 2022) announced the winners of its annual Presidents' Innovative Startup Awards. The award recognizes startups that have a high potential for growth and an economic impact in West Texas.


Fifth Graders Become Doctors for a Day

Fifth graders from Bean Elementary School became doctors for a day. The Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC) Student National Medical Association (SNMA) hosted the Doctors for a Day Minicamp on Sept. 23.