Physician, Student Receive State Honors

The Texas Medical Association (TMA) recently honored two people from TTUHSC with prestigious awards at the TMA House of Delegates.

C. Frank Webber, M.D., Award

Steven L. Berk, M.D.

Steven L. Berk, M.D.

Steven L. Berk, M.D., executive vice president, provost and dean of the School of Medicine, was named this year’s C. Frank Webber, M.D., Award recipient.

Each year the TMA Medical Student Section honors a Texas physician for outstanding service to the section and its members. Berk was honored for his continuous support through recognition of student efforts and eagerness to promote student involvement in organized medicine.

President Tedd L. Mitchell, M.D., said Berk’s commitment to medical students is outstanding.

“Dr. Berk does an outstanding job with our students, not only with their education but by directing their talents and time to make significant contributions to our community through their outreach,” Mitchell said. “From the Student-Run Free Clinic, to School of Medicine health fairs and community events that bring awareness to health care issues, his support of these students is worthy of this honor.”

Berk also works to involve students in their community and in organized medicine. He has co-chaired the March of Dimes March for Babies, helped students promote the Lubbock City Lights charity gala, and lends financial assistance for students to participate in TMA and American Medical Association conferences and student chapters.

Berk’s superior teaching and service to medical students has earned him several awards, including 10 James H. Quillen College of Medicine’s Teacher of the Year awards, both East Tennessee State University’s and TTUHSC’s Distinguished Service Award, and the 2012 Boston University Distinguished Alumni Award. In 2011, Berk’s book, Anatomy of a Kidnapping, his firsthand account of surviving an abduction, won the ForeWord Reviews Book of the Year award.

Created in 1987, the C. Frank Webber, M.D., Award is named after the late Texas family physician and educator C. Frank Webber, M.D., former dean of the University of Texas Medical School at Houston. Webber’s efforts prompted the development of the strong student organization within TMA.

Medical Student of the Year

Justin Berk

Justin Berk

Justin Berk, second-year medical student, received the TMA Medical Student of the Year Award. This award is given annually to the Texas medical student exemplifying outstanding service to the TMA Medical Student Section.

TMA stated, “Justin Berk is a champion of local health care needs, a mentor to other students, and an integral member of the TMA chapter. Justin mobilized many students to participate in shaping health care policy by organizing newsletters to address current issues in health care policy, pamphlets and lunch lectures.

"In addition, Justin was deputized by the local election office to register voters for the 2012 election; the subsequent event registered more than 100 students. Under Justin’s leadership existing TMA events like ‘Be Wise Immunize’ were integrated into the School of Medicine Free Clinic expanding our community footprint.”

TMA created the Medical Student Section in the late 1970s to gain a student perspective among members and provide future physicians with a voice in TMA policy. This organized membership section helps focus attention on issues unique to Texas students and provides a forum for students to communicate with each other.

Related Stories

TTUHSC Permian Basin Community Discuss Future of Health Care Workforce

TTUHSC hosted “Building the Basin: a Permian Basin Health Care Workforce Summit” Oct. 4.

Remembering Dr. Tom McGovern

TTUHSC Celebration of Life Service was held March 25th in remembrance of Tom McGovern, Ed.D.

TTUHSC Ranks Fourth Nationally Among Graduate Institutions as a Military Friendly® School

TTUHSC has been named as a Military Friendly® School for 2022-2023. Among graduate schools, TTUHSC ranked fourth in the nation, achieving Gold award status.

Recent Stories

TTUHSC Permian Basin Community Discuss Future of Health Care Workforce

TTUHSC hosted “Building the Basin: a Permian Basin Health Care Workforce Summit” Oct. 4.


TTUHSC Receives CPRIT Grant to Begin New Outreach Effort

CPRIT recently awarded a $1 million prevention grant to Rakhshanda Rahman, M.D., Rebeccah Baucom, M.D., and John Kidwell, M.D., from the TTUHSC School of Medicine.


Startups Begin Here! Four Startups Awarded $50,000 from TTUHSC President

The Innovation Hub at Research Park today (September 26, 2022) announced the winners of its annual Presidents' Innovative Startup Awards. The award recognizes startups that have a high potential for growth and an economic impact in West Texas.